Jump to main content

Menu

Disability Tag

A rugby team for players with learning difficulties

What is disability tag rugby?

Disability tag rugby is a fast and exciting non-contact sport that encourages the positive development of running, balance and handling skills.

It is also an enjoyable way to keep healthy and fit. Disability tag rugby can be played by men, women and children of all ages and abilities. The sport caters for those aged 6 years plus, with no upper age limit.

Is disability tag rugby available for all players with a disability in Ireland?

Whilst there is an increasing number of disability tag rugby teams across Ireland, not every club will have a team. Where some players may have started the game with a club at mini level, they might need to switch to another club to access disability tag rugby to remain playing within a safe environment.

Disability tag rugby is fully inclusive and caters for a wide range of players, including wheelchair users and those with additional needs. That said, disability tag rugby is largely played on grass and, as the typical season runs from September to December and March to June, unless indoor facilities are available the use of a wheelchair on grass will be largely dependent upon weather and pitch conditions.

As this is a non-contact sport, players who require glasses can wear prescription sports goggles that can be purchased from most opticians.

The current list of clubs providing disability tag rugby can be found below please note not all clubs will have u15s and/or over 15s teams.

Club Team Offering Key Contact Email
Corinthians RFC Galway Corinthians Raptors U15s &Over 15s Derek Niland Click here for email
Tuam RFC Little Rascals 9 to 11 John Ward Click here for email
Club Team Offering Key Contact Email
Balbriggan Balbriggan Stingers U15s & Over 15s Leigh O’Toole lotoole89@gmail.com
Lisa Kelly lisakelly81@yahoo.co.uk
Barnhall Barnhall Buffaloes U15s & Over 15s James Jones jjones@cheeverstown.ie
Cill Dara Cill Dara Foxes Over 15s Paul McGrath paulmcgrathspsv@gmail.com
Elizabeth Doyle doylebrien@gmail.com
Clontarf Clontarf Bulls U15s & Over 15s Ivan Skelly ivan@ableofficesystems.ie
Felicity Fanning fanningfelicity261@gmail.com
Coolmine Coolmine Pumas U15s & Over 15s Sean Lee 34sean@gmail.com
County Carlow Co Carlow Bees U15s & Over 15s Muireann Brennan cwocarlowrugby@gmail.com
De La Salle Palmerstown DLSP Eagles U15s & Over 15s Dave Hicks davidhicksmeats@gmail.com
Garda Westmanstown Wasps U15s & Over 15s Eamon O’Grady eamonogrady@gmail.com
Greystones Greystone Seagulls U15s & Over 15s info@greystonesrfc.ie
Mullingar Mullingar Lions U15s & Over 15s Clare O’Brien mullingarccro@leinsterrugby.ie
Naas Naas Vipers U15s Susan McKeown cwonaas@hotmail.com
Navan Navan Blue Dragons U15s Gerry Sweeney gersweeney@gmail.com
New Ross Dunbrody Warriors Over 15s Michael Seale michaelseale@hotmail.com
North Kildare Skylarks U15s & Over 15s Sinead Griffin nkrcwo@gmail.com
Seapoint Seapoint Dragons U15s & Over 15s Peter O’Brien petermobrien1@gmail.com
St Marys College Stewarts Care Over 15s Dean Rock Dean.Rock@stewartscare.ie
Terenure College Terenure Tigers u15s & Over 15s Bernard Molloy molloybernard@gmail.com
Tullamore Tullamore Tigers Over 15s info@tullamorerugby.com
Wicklow  Wicklow Warriors U15s & Over 15s James Keating wicklowrfcwarriors@gmail.com
Club Team Offering Key Contact Email
Ballincollig Ballincollig Warriors  Over 15s only Robert Keane adaptedtagbrfc@gmail.com
Garryowen Garyowen Lions Over 15s John O’Callaghan john.ocallaghan@lim-docservice.ie
Mallow Mallow Barbarians Over 18s Paula Reilly ReillyP@cope-foundation.ie  
Club Team Offering Key Contact Email
Ballyclare RFC Clare Hares U15s & Over 15s Tommy Scott mrtommyscott@outlook.com
Ballymena RFC Ballymena Bears U15s & Over 15s Gary Donald gdjd6@hotmail.com
Donaghadee RFC Seaside Sharkies U15s & Over 15s Peter Brown pbrown1@talktalk.net
Dungannon RFC Stevenson Sharks U15s & Over 15s Jim McGinley jimeith@btinternet.com
Enniskillen RFC Ennniskillen Elks U15s & Over 15s Stuart McCrae stuartmccrae@yahoo.co.uk
PSNI Newforge Taggers U15s & Over 15s Rachel Melville rachelmelville91@yahoo.co.uk
Portadown RFC Portadown Panthers U15s & Over 15s Karen Flack karenflack0@gmail.com
Virginia RFC Virginia all Blacks U15s & Over 15s Peter Skelly pskelly@skellyoil.ie