Jump to main content


McNulty Gets Deserved LA 7s Dream Team Nod

McNulty Gets Deserved LA 7s Dream Team Nod

McNulty Gets Deserved LA 7s Dream Team Nod

Captain Harry McNulty is pictured in action for the Ireland Men's Sevens team against Spain during the LA 7s tournament ©INPHO/Travis Prior

Captain Harry McNulty’s efforts in leading the Ireland Men’s Sevens team to bronze at the LA 7s have been recognised with a place on the tournament’s HSBC SVNS Dream Team.

Having been edged out by eventual champions France (26-24) at the semi-final stage, the Ireland Men (sponsored by TritonLake) bounced back to win the 3rd place play-off against Spain, with Zac Ward (2), Ed Kelly, and Chay Mullins scoring tries in a 24-7 win.

James Topping’s side secured their second podium finish in three SVNS Series events, also beating South Africa for a record third successive time, and claiming the scalp of SVNS Series leaders Argentina, whose 18-match winning streak was ended by a late Jordan Conroy try.

The ever-durable and influential McNulty started all six games in Los Angeles, and continues to be a huge asset for Ireland in the air at restarts and lineouts. He also made his mark as a ball carrier and at the breakdown and tackle area.

The former Munster Academy player, who turns 31 today, made two Dream Team selections last season, in Dubai and Vancouver. He was recently honoured as the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Men’s Sevens Player of the Year for 2023.

The consistent form of McNulty and his team-mates means they are sitting second in the overall standings, ahead of next month’s Hong Kong Sevens. They will chase more medals there and in Singapore in May, before the winner-takes-all Grand Final in Madrid (May 31-June 2).

As the excitement continues to build towards the summer’s Olympics, Terry Kennedy, who made the Dream Team line-ups in both Cape Town and Perth this season, and Ward have impressed in the scoring stakes, with 23 and 18 tries respectively so far.

Joining McNulty on the list of LA’s leading lights are Andy Timo, Antoine Dupont, and Paulin Riva from title winners France, Spain’s Juan Ramos, and Great Britain duo Robbie Fergusson and Alex Davis.