Jump to main content


Barrett And Nicholson Brought Into Connacht Academy

Barrett And Nicholson Brought Into Connacht Academy

Mayo youngster Fiachna Barrett is coming off the back of winning the Grand Slam and reaching the World Rugby U-20 Championship final with the Ireland Under-20s ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Connacht have announced that, so far, a 15-player squad has been assembled in the province’s Academy for the 2023/24 season.

There are five Year 1 additions, including two Under-20 Six Nations Grand Slam winners and World Rugby U-20 Championship finalists, Fiachna Barrett and James Nicholson.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Also joining the Year 1 ranks is centre Finn Treacy, a European Championship silver medallist with the Ireland U-18 Sevens team, hooker Matthew Victory, and out-half Sean Naughton.

Moving up to Year 2 are three players who helped Ireland to retain the U-20 Six Nations title this year and reach the recent global decider – Ballina native Harry West, Hugh Gavin from Salthill, and John Devine from Ballinasloe.

Joining them in Year 2 is Ireland Sevens international Chay Mullins, Daniel Hawkshaw, Matthew Devine, John’s older brother, Oisin Michel and Shane Mallon.

Completing today’s newly-announced squad are Year 3 players, prop Charlie Ward and winger Josh O’Connor.

While more players may be added as the season progresses, Connacht Rugby Academy manager Eric Elwood commented: “On behalf of Connacht Rugby, I would like to congratulate and welcome our new Year 1 Academy players.

“We are all very much looking forward to working with them and I have no doubt they will add great value to the group.”


YEAR 1 –

Fiachna Barrett (Prop)
Finn Treacy (Centre)
James Nicholson (Back-Three)
Sean Naughton (Out-Half)
Matthew Victory (Hooker)

YEAR 2 –

Chay Mullins (Back-Three)
Matthew Devine (Scrum Half)
John Devine (Centre)
Daniel Hawkshaw (Centre)
Shane Mallon (Centre)
Oisin Michel (Prop)
Harry West (Out-Half)
Hugh Gavin (Centre)

YEAR 3 –

Josh O’Connor (Back-Three)
Charlie Ward (Prop)