Jump to main content



Barrett, Mo’unga And Read Slot Back In For New Zealand

Barrett, Mo’unga And Read Slot Back In For New Zealand

Beauden Barrett, pictured training with the All Blacks in Koto city, will start at full-back for the defending Rugby World Cup champions this weekend ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

The New Zealand team to play Ireland in Saturday’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final has been announced. The game takes place at Tokyo Stadium (kick-off 7.15pm local time/11.15am Irish time).

Head coach Steve Hansen has made three changes to the side that ran out 71-9 winners over Namibia a week-and-a-half ago. That proved to be their final pool game as their next fixture against Italy was cancelled due to Typhoon Hagibis.

Shannon Frizell, Jordie Barrett and Ben Smith are the players to make way as captain Kieran Read, Richie Mo’unga and Beauden Barrett all return at number 8, out-half and full-back respectively.

There are seven changes to the New Zealand line-up from last November’s 16-9 loss to Ireland at the Aviva Stadium. Brodie Retallick and Sam Whitelock will extend their All Blacks record for starts together in the second row to 53.

The defending World Cup champions reached the knockout stages in Japan as Pool B winners, a point ahead of South Africa. Hansen said: “There’s a lot of energy and excitement in the team which is normal for this stage of the tournament where the winner-takes-all. It will add extra pressure to both sides.

“We feel we’ve selected a great mixture of talent in our 23, who are in great form, and the squad includes many players who have a lot of Rugby World Cup knockout match experience.

“Together with our experienced management team, that brings a deep understanding of what is needed to get the job done. Past Rugby World Cup history is important because of the positive or negative experiences you’ve had. But ultimately it is what happens on the day that counts.”

NEW ZEALAND Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2019 Rugby World Cup Quarter-Final, Tokyo Stadium, Saturday, October 19, kick-off 7.15pm local time/11.15am Irish time):

Player/Club/Caps –

15. Beauden Barrett (Blues) 80
14. Sevu Reece (Crusaders) 5
13. Jack Goodhue (Crusaders) 11
12. Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs) 40
11. George Bridge (Crusaders) 7
10. Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders) 14
9. Aaron Smith (Highlanders) 89
1. Joe Moody (Crusaders) 43
2. Codie Taylor (Crusaders) 48
3. Nepo Laulala (Chiefs) 23
4. Brodie Retallick (Chiefs) 78
5. Sam Whitelock (Crusaders) 115
6. Ardie Savea (Hurricanes) 42
7. Sam Cane (Chiefs) 65
8. Kieran Read (Crusaders) (capt) 124


16. Dane Coles (Hurricanes) 66
17. Ofa Tuungafasi (Blues) 33
18. Angus Ta’avao (Chiefs) 11
19. Scott Barrett (Crusaders) 33
20. Matt Todd (Crusaders) 23
21. TJ Perenara (Hurricanes) 62
22. Sonny Bill Williams (Blues) 55
23. Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes) 14