Jump to main content


Ireland Squad Confirmed For U-18 European Men’s Sevens Championship

Ireland Squad Confirmed For U-18 European Men’s Sevens Championship

Ireland Squad Confirmed For U-18 European Men’s Sevens Championship

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir and Corinthians winger Diarmuid Kilcommins is pictured on the attack for the Ireland Under-18 Schools team against England during this year's U-18 Six Nations Festival ©www.capturetheevent.com

The Ireland Sevens management have confirmed the 12 players who will compete at this weekend’s Rugby Europe Under-18 Men’s Sevens Championship in Gdansk, Poland. The team is coached by Allan Temple-Jones, the IRFU Sevens Head of Athletic Performance.

Ireland have a proud record in the U-18 European competition with title wins in both 2016 and 2017, along with a runners-up finish behind France last year. They head up Pool B at this weekend’s tournament, with games against Luxembourg, Russia and Georgia on Saturday.

Letterkenny and Royal School Armagh centre Charlie Worth captains an Ireland side which includes players from all four provinces as well as Michael Cooke and James Langston from the IQ Rugby pathway.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cooke, Diarmuid Kilcommins, Josh O’Connor, Aaron Leahy, Ben Moxham and Conor McKee all represented Ireland at Under-18 level last season, across the U-18 Clubs, U-18 Schools, and U-18 Clubs & Schools teams.

A number of the squad also featured for their respective schools in the provincial Schools Cup competitions earlier this year, including Kilkenny College’s Success Edogan and Rory Dwyer of Belvedere College, Ard Scoil Ris back rower Jack Ward Murphy, and RBAI talent Jude Postlethwaite.

The 12-team tournament will be run off across Saturday and Sunday, with live streaming available on www.rugbyeurope.tv. The pool line-ups and fixtures are available here on the Rugby Europe website.

IRELAND UNDER-18 MEN’S SEVENS Squad (2019 Rugby Europe Under-18 Men’s Sevens Championship, Kompleks Sportowy Gdansk, Gdansk, Poland. Saturday, August 17-Sunday, August 18):

Diarmuid Kilcommins (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
Michael Cooke (Ealing Trailfinders RFC/IQ Rugby)
James Langston (Wasps Rugby Academy/Harrow School/IQ Rugby)
Success Edogun (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
Josh O’Connor (Wexford Wanderers RFC/Leinster)
Aaron Leahy (CBC Cork/Munster)
Jack Ward Murphy (Garryowen FC/Ardscoil Ris/Munster)
Charlie Worth (Letterkenny RFC/Royal School Armagh/Ulster) (capt)
Ben Moxham (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Ulster)
Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Ulster)
Rory Dwyer (Belvedere College/Leinster)

Ireland U-18 Sevens Management –

Head Coach: Allan Temple-Jones
Manager: James Topping

2019 Rugby Europe U-18 Sevens – Ireland Fixtures:

Saturday, August 17: 

Pool B

Ireland v Luxembourg, Kompleks Sportowy Gdansk, 11.44am local time/10.44am Irish time
Ireland v Russia, Kompleks Sportowy Gdansk, 2.29pm local time/1.29pm Irish time
Ireland v Georgia, Kompleks Sportowy Gdansk, 5.14pm local time/4.14pm Irish time

Sunday, August 18:

Play-Offs & Finals