Jump to main content


Lacey To Referee PRO14 Semi-Final In Glasgow

Lacey To Referee PRO14 Semi-Final In Glasgow

Tipperary man John Lacey is pictured at Scotstoun Stadium earlier in the season when he refereed Glasgow Warriors v Ospreys in the GUINNESS PRO14 ©INPHO/Craig Watson

Ahead of his retirement at the end of the season, vastly-experienced IRFU international referee John Lacey will take charge of one of this weekend’s GUINNESS PRO14 semi-finals – his 80th game as a referee in the Championship.

Lacey, the SRU’s Mike Adamson and Ben Whitehouse of the WRU have all been selected for action this weekend, with Adamson’s appointment to the Leinster v Munster semi-final carrying added significance as he is the first Scottish match official to referee a knockout fixture since they were reintroduced to the Championship in 2010.

Lacey, who recently refereed the Challenge Cup semi-final between Clermont Auvergne and Harlequins, will lead a team of Irish match officials for the clash of Glasgow and Ulster at Scotstoun Stadium on Friday. He is retiring from refereeing at the end of the season to take up a high performance referee coaching and talent identification role with the IRFU.

Match officials throughout the GUINNESS PRO14 final series will be selected on the criteria of capability and their performances throughout the 2018/19 season.

Interested in becoming a rugby referee? Click here for information on the IRFU referee pathway.


Friday, May 17 –

GLASGOW WARRIORS (1st, Con A) v ULSTER (2nd, Con B), Scotstoun Stadium, 7.35pm (live Premier Sports 1/eir Sport 1/DAZN/SuperSport 8/deferred TG4)

Referee: John Lacey (IRFU)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Brace, George Clancy (both IRFU)
TMO: Olly Hodges (IRFU)

Saturday, May 18 –

LEINSTER (1st, Con B) v MUNSTER (2nd, Con A), the RDS, 2.30pm (live eir Sport 1/Premier Sports 1/DAZN/SuperSport 8/deferred TG4)

Referee: Mike Adamson (SRU)
Assistant Referees: Lloyd Linton, Keith Allen (both SRU)
TMO: Neil Paterson (SRU)


Saturday, May 18 –

OSPREYS v SCARLETS, Liberty Stadium, 7.45pm (live Premier Sports 1/eir Sport 1/DAZN)

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)
Assistant Referees: Nigel Owens, Dan Jones (both WRU)
TMO: Ian Davies (WRU)