Jump to main content


Two Late Changes For Ireland Women

Two Late Changes For Ireland Women

Second row Aoife McDermott stretches out to score Ireland's opening try against Scotland ©INPHO/Craig Watson

There are two injury-enforced changes to the Ireland Women’s team to play France in the penultimate round of the Women’s Six Nations at Energia Park on Saturday night (kick-off 7pm).

In the second row Juliet Short has been ruled out and is replaced by her Railway Union team-mate Aoife McDermott, with Nichola Fryday switching sides in the engine room. It is the same lock pairing which began the Championship against England and featured against both Scotland and Italy.

A hamstring injury means Megan Williams has also withdrawn from the matchday squad. 17-year-old Ballinasloe flyer Beibhinn Parsons, who made her debut against the USA in November, will wear the number 23 jersey and is poised to make her Six Nations bow.

With  over 4,300 tickets sold, the Ireland v France fixture is on course for a record attendance for a Women’s Six Nations game at Energia Park. A limited number of tickets are still available on Ticketmaster.ie.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v France Women, 2019 Women’s Six Nations Championship, Energia Park, Donnybrook, Saturday, March 9, kick-off 7pm):

15. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
1. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemians/Munster)
3. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)
8. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)


16. Emma Hooban (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
17. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
18. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Anna Caplice (Richmond)
20. Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
21. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
22. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
23. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)

* Denotes uncapped player at this level