Jump to main content


Reidy Reaches Century Of Caps As Ulster Make Three Changes

Reidy Reaches Century Of Caps As Ulster Make Three Changes

Ulster and Ireland flanker Sean Reidy is pictured celebrating after the province's Heineken Champions Cup win over Racing 92 in Belfast last month ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson

Ireland back rower Sean Reidy will earn his 100th cap for Ulster on Sunday afternoon when they travel to take on Dragons in round 17 of the GUINNESS PRO14 at Rodney Parade (kick-off 3pm).

Reidy, who made his debut against the same opposition at Kingspan Stadium in November 2014, combines in the back row with Nick Timoney and Jordi Murphy, who is one of three changes to the side that secured a 54-7 bonus point win over Zebre last Saturday.

The other two changes to the starting XV are at half-back, with Murphy’s international colleague John Cooney also released from Ireland duty, while Billy Burns returns to start at out-half for his first appearance in three PRO14 rounds.

Alan O’Connor continues as captain, alongside Kieran Treadwell in the second row, and the tight five is completed by Eric O’Sullivan, Martin Moore and hooker Rob Herring, who scored a hat-trick of tries in a memorable man-of-the-match performance for the Ulstermen last weekend.

The familiar duo of Darren Cave and Stuart McCloskey combine again in midfield, while Robert Lyttle, Robert Baloucoune and Louis Ludik will provide a mix of flair, raw pace and composure in the back-three. The trio all touched down against Zebre with Lyttle landing six conversions.

On the bench, Andrew Warwick, John Andrew, Wiehahn Herbst, Ian Nagle and Matthew Rea will cover the forward options, with David Shanahan, James Hume and Peter Nelson providing the back-line cover for Ulster, who are currently third in GUINNESS PRO14 Conference B – two points behind Benetton Rugby.

ULSTER (v Dragons): Louis Ludik; Robert Baloucoune, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Robert Lyttle; Billy Burns, John Cooney; Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring, Martin Moore, Alan O’Connor (capt), Kieran Treadwell, Sean Reidy, Jordi Murphy, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: Andrew Warwick, John Andrew, Wiehahn Herbst, Ian Nagle, Matthew Rea, David Shanahan, James Hume, Peter Nelson.