Jump to main content



Gallagher And Neville To Referee In Women’s Six Nations

Gallagher And Neville To Referee In Women’s Six Nations

IRFU international referees Sean Gallagher and Joy Neville will take charge of matches in the upcoming Women’s Six Nations Championship in February and March.

World Rugby has announced the match official appointments for the 2019 Women’s Six Nations Championship. A team of 13 referees, two assistant referees and five television match officials have been selected for the tournament.

The appointments include ten female referees and six of the selected referees will be making their Six Nations debuts – Nikki O´Donnell (RFU), Laura Pettingale (RFU), Clara Munarini (FIR), Rebecca Mahoney (NZRU), Aurelie Groizeleau (FFR) and Hollie Davidson (SRU).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Aimee Barrett-Theron from South Africa will take charge of the Championship’s opening game when Ireland face England at Energia Park in Dublin on Friday, February 1. The IRFU’s Sean Gallagher will referee France v Wales in the opening round.

Gallagher’s Irish colleague and 2017 World Rugby Referee of the Year, Joy Neville, will have the whistle for the clash between England and Scotland at Twickenham on Saturday, March 16. Fellow IRFU match official Leo Colgan will act as TMO for a number of fixtures.

All of the match officials selected have been previously involved in Women’s international matches during the June and November Test windows in 2018.

The full list of 2019 Women’s Six Nations appointments can be viewed on World.Rugby.

Interested in becoming a rugby referee? Click here for information on the IRFU referee pathway.