Jump to main content


Munster Give First PRO14 Starts To Johnston And Wycherley

Munster Give First PRO14 Starts To Johnston And Wycherley

The Munster team has been named for Sunday’s GUINNESS PRO14 tussle with the Toyota Cheetahs at Toyota Stadium (kick-off 4.45pm local time/2.45pm Irish time).

Making his long-awaited return, Tyler Bleyendaal captains the Munstermen from inside centre with Bill Johnston and Fineen Wycherley stepping up for their first GUINNESS PRO14 starts. There are nine changes to the team that secured the last-gasp win over Glasgow Warriors, with three Academy players in the matchday 23.

The four changes to the back-line see Shane Daly, Alex Wootton, the fit-again Bleyendaal and the 21-year-old Johnston all come into the side. Mike Haley continues at full-back as Academy player Daly comes in on the right wing with Wootton, a try-scoring replacement against Glasgow, on the opposite flank.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Bleyendaal makes his 40th appearance for Munster and features in the PRO14 for the first time since last February. Sam Arnold, who is part of Ireland’s GUINNESS Series squad, completes the centre partnership, while Alby Mathewson and Johnston combine together at half-back.

Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Wycherley and South African Arno Botha are included as the five changes in the pack. Chris Cloete continues the South African influence at openside flanker, and the Academy involvement is completed by the inclusion of Sean O’Connor and Gavin Coombes on the bench.

MUNSTER (v Toyota Cheetahs): Mike Haley; Shane Daly, Sam Arnold, Tyler Bleyendaal (capt), Alex Wootton; Bill Johnston, Alby Mathewson; James Cronin, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Darren O’Shea, Fineen Wycherley, Chris Cloete, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Sean O’Connor, Gavin Coombes, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Rory Scannell.