Jump to main content



Ireland Team Named For Chicago Test Against Italy

Ireland Team Named For Chicago Test Against Italy

The Ireland team to play Italy at The Rugby Weekend in Soldier Field on Saturday has been named. There are two uncapped players included in the 23 man squad.

Rhys Ruddock will captain the side having previously worn the armband for the duration of the 2017 Summer Tour of the USA and Japan.  He is joined in the backrow by Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan
Andrew Porter and Jack McGrath pack down either side of Niall Scannell in the front row with Tadhg Beirne and Quinn Roux teaming up in the second row.
Luke McGrath and Joey Carbery are named as the half-back combination with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose at inside and outside centre respectively. 

Jordon Larmour starts at fullback with Andrew Conway and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.
The uncapped Ross Byrne and Will Addison are named in the replacements along with Sean Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Devin Toner, Jordi Murphy and John Cooney.
The Rugby Weekend fixture against Italy will be broadcast by EIR in the Republic of Ireland (including the Eir facebook and youtube channels) and Premier Sports in Northern Ireland and the UK.
IRELAND Team & Replacements (v Italy, The Rugby Weekend, Soldier Field, Chicago, Saturday, November 3, kick-off 3.00pm local time/8.00pm Irish time):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

15. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 6
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 7
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 14
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 9
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 11
10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster) 12
9. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 6 
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 50
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 9
3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 8
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster) 2
5. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 6
6. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 19 captain
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 10
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 9
16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 62
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 22
18. Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 7
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 60
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 23
21. John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 2
22. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) *
23. Will Addison (Enniskillen/Ulster) *