Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Finalise Selection For Cardiff ‘A’ Match

Leinster ‘A’ Finalise Selection For Cardiff ‘A’ Match

Jack Kelly will captain Leinster ‘A’ when they face Cardiff Blues ‘A’ in the province’s first Celtic Cup home tie at Energia Park on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 1pm).

Leinster ‘A’ made a positive start to the Celtic Cup with a 43-28 bonus point win over Ulster ‘A’ in Belfast last Friday. Adam Byrne comes into the side this week to start on the right wing, with Michael Silvester on the left and captain Jack Kelly, one of the province’s six try scorers in round 1, at full-back.

Hugo Keenan moves from full-back to start at inside centre alongside Mullingar man Conor O’Brien in midfield, while Harry Byrne, who impressive with an 18-point haul against the Ulstermen, continues at out-half with his Ireland Under-20 colleague Patrick Patterson on his inside.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There is senior experience in the pack with Mick Kearney and Ian Nagle, who both got game-time last week against the Scarlets in the GUINNESS PRO14, combining in the second row. Year One Academy recruit Michael Milne, Ronan Kelleher and Vakh Abdaladze form a youthful Leinster ‘A’ front row, while the loose forwards trio of Oisin Dowling, Scott Penny and Ronan Foley complete the pack.

Leinster supporters can kick off a massive day of rugby tomorrow and pay at the Energia Park gate in Donnybrook with entry to the terrace from €;10/5 and entry to the stand from €;15/10.

After the Celtic Cup match, the Leinster senior team face Dragons at the RDS in the PRO14 (kick-off 515pm), followed by the IRFU Women’s Interprovincial title decider between Leinster and Munster back at Energia Park at 7.30pm. Fans that show their Season Ticket or ticket from Leinster v Dragons can enter the Women’s game for free.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Cardiff Blues ‘A’): Jack Kelly (capt); Adam Byrne, Hugo Keenan, Conor O’Brien, Michael Silvester; Harry Byrne, Patrick Patterson; Michael Milne, Ronan Kelleher, Vakh Abdaladze, Mick Kearney, Ian Nagle, Oisin Dowling, Scott Penny, Ronan Foley.

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Giuseppe Coyne, Jack Aungier, Jack Dunne, Josh Murphy, Cormac Foley, David Hawkshaw, Peter Maher.