Jump to main content


Vote Now For The Ulster Bank League Try Of The Year

Vote Now For The Ulster Bank League Try Of The Year

Voting is now open for the Ulster Bank League Try of the Year. The eight monthly winners are up for the overall award which will be presented at the Ulster Bank League Awards later this week.

At the start of the season a new initiative was launched by the IRFU and All-Ireland League sponsors Ulster Bank. The #UBLTry of the Month competition sought to recognise the outstanding team and individual scores from across all five divisions of the Ulster Bank League.
Each month clubs posted their best Ulster Bank League tries on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram, and a selection of the best tries were featured on the IRFU’s social media platforms with a monthly winner selected by a member of the Ireland coaching team. 
You can now vote for the #UBLTry of the Year from the eight monthly winners:


September’s winner was Lansdowne winger Daniel McEvoy against Young Munster in the Division 1A clash at the Aviva Stadium. Young Munster captain Ben Kilkenny emerged as the October winner for his effort against Cork Constitution, and Old Wesley’s Jack Maybury was chosen in November for the end-to-end score against Dolphin.
December’s winner was Seapoint’s Kiwi out-half Bain Champion in their Division 2C encounter with Tullamore. Heading into the New Year, Malone’s Dan Kerr dotted down against local rivals Queen’s University to claim the first monthly award of 2018.

Skerries winger Paul Devitt burst through the Old Crescent defence to claim February’s top try award. March’s winner was Marcus McAllister’s effort for Malahide against Tullamore, while the final monthly winner of the season was Falemaka el Vave of Queen’s for his impressive solo score against Corinthians in April.
The winner of the #UBL Try of the Year for 2017/18 will be announced at the Ulster Bank League Awards at the Aviva Stadium this Thursday (May 17).

#UBLTry Monthly Winners – 2017/18 Season:
September: Daniel McEvoy (Lansdowne – Division 1A)
October: Ben Kilkenny (Young Munster – Division 1A)
November: Jack Maybury (Old Wesley – Division 1B)
December: Bain Champion (Seapoint – Division 2C)
January: Dan Kerr (Malone – Division 2A)
February: Paul Devitt (Skerries – Division 2B)
March: Marcus McAllister (Malahide – Division 2C)
April: Falemaka El Vave (Queen’s University – Division 2A)