Jump to main content



Shortlist Revealed For Ulster Bank League Awards

Shortlist Revealed For Ulster Bank League Awards

The Ulster Bank League Awards return to the Aviva Stadium next week for their annual end of season showcase to recognise the outstanding club talent throughout all five divisions of the league. The awards ceremony takes place on Thursday, May 17, and will celebrate the local heroes who line out for their clubs across the country.

Ireland’s Grand Slam-winning head coach Joe Schmidt will present the awards to the winners across the 16 different categories. This year will also see the introduction of a new category, the #UBLTry of the Year, recognising the winners of the #UBLTry of the Month throughout this season’s Ulster Bank League.

The 2017/18 season officially came to an end last Sunday with table toppers Lansdowne celebrating a gritty 19-17 victory over Cork Constitution following a thrilling Ulster Bank League Division 1A final.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In recent years the Ulster Bank League Awards have recognised some of Ireland’s rugby stars of the future. Current Ireland internationals Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour were nominated in 2016 and 2017 respectively, with Carbery picking up the Rising Star of the Year award for his performances for Clontarf in the 2015/16 season.

Once again, the Provincial Player of the Year awards will be chosen by public vote with the shortlist compiled by the expert judging panel of pundits – Donn O’Sullivan (Limerick Leader), Richard Mulligan (Newsletter), John Mulligan (Galway Bay FM) and IRFU Junior Vice-President Nicholas Comyn.

Lansdowne lead the pack with seven nominations at this year’s awards following a terrific season which saw them finish top of Division 1A and also seize an emphatic win against a five in-a-row-winning Cork Constitution to lift their first Bateman Cup trophy since 1931.

The Dublin club are also guaranteed to pick up at least one award as Scott Deasy (pictured above) will be awarded as the Ulster Bank League Top Points scorer honour, finishing the season with a club record 219 points, while Garryowen winger Liam Coombes will be presented with the Top Try Scorer of the Season award, closing his campaign with 11 tries.

Speaking in advance of the Ulster Bank League wards, Carol McMahon, Head of Business, Marketing & Sponsorship, Ulster Bank, commented: “It has been another unforgettable season of club rugby in the Ulster Bank League and one which has once again showcased the extremely high standard of grassroots rugby in Ireland.

“Ulster Bank is very proud to support these clubs and players, who dedicate their time, their talent and their weekends to ensure that rugby continues to thrive at a national, provincial and local level.

“The awards recognise and celebrate the dedication, commitment and hard work shown by players, coaches and volunteers who continue to grow the game at grassroots level and make the league a significant component of the sporting calendar.”


Ulster Bank League Division 1A Player of the Year

Neil Cronin (Garryowen)
Eamonn Mills (Lansdowne)
Adam Leavy (Lansdowne)
Tomas Quinlan (Cork Constitution)

Ulster Bank League Division 1A Rising Star

Alan Tynan (Young Munster)
Bill Johnston (Garryowen)
Charlie Rock (Lansdowne)
Alex McHenry (Cork Constitution)

Ulster Bank League Division 1A Coach of the Year

Brian Hickey (Cork Constitution)
Mike Ruddock (Lansdowne)
Conan Doyle (Garryowen)
James Blaney (Terenure College)

Ulster Bank League Division 1B Player of the Year

Will Leonard (Shannon)
Tony Cusack (Shannon)
Andrew Morrison (Banbridge)
Paul Kiernan (UCC)

Ulster Bank League Division 2A Player of the Year

Rory Campbell (Malone)
Fintan O’Sullivan (Highfield)
Cormac Fox (City of Armagh)
Brian Murphy (Galwegians)

Ulster Bank League Division 2B Player of the Year

Tommy O’Hagan (Rainey Old Boys)
Val McDermott (Old Crescent)
Seaghan Gleeson (Old Crescent)
Eoin King (Navan)

Ulster Bank League Division 2C Player of the Year

Manu Parkin (Sligo)
Shane Boyle (Sligo)
Evan Cusack (Thomond)
Stewart McCain (Omagh Accies)

Ulster Bank – Club PRO of the Year

Frank Larkin (Old Crescent)
Carl Blake (Galwegians)
Chris Moore (Queen’s University)
Katie McCloskey (Shannon)

Ulster Bank Provincial Player of the Year – across all divisions (public vote):

Munster Nominees

Neil Cronin (Garryowen)
Tomas Quinlan (Cork Constitution)
Val McDermott (Old Crescent)
Will Leonard (Shannon)

Leinster Nominees

Adam Leavy (Lansdowne)
Eamonn Mills (Lansdowne)
Harry Brennan (Lansdowne)
Jake Swaine (Terenure College)

Ulster Nominees

Andrew Morrison (Banbridge)
Caleb Montgomery (Banbridge)
Rory Campbell (Malone)
Stewart McCain (Omagh Accies)

Connacht Nominees

Manu Parkin (Sligo)
Shane Boyle (Sligo)
Brian Murphy (Galwegians)
Martin Staunton (Buccaneers)

Ulster Bank League #UBLTry of the Year Nominees

September – Daniel McEvoy (Lansdowne)

October – Ben Kilkenny (Young Munster)

November – Jack Maybury (Old Wesley)

December – Bain Champion (Seapoint)

January – Dan Kerr (Malone)

February – Paul Devitt (Skerries)

March – Marcus McAllister (Malahide)

April – Falemaka El Vave (Queen’s University)