Jump to main content



Ulster Bank Bateman Cup: Semi-Final Previews

Ulster Bank Bateman Cup: Semi-Final Previews

There is the potential for some big upsets in the Ulster Bank Bateman Cup semi-finals if Division 1A giants Lansdowne and Cork Constitution slip up on their travels today. Lying in wait are Sligo and City of Armagh, who both claimed long-awaited provincial Senior Cup titles before Christmas.


Kick-off 2.30pm unless stated –

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

SLIGO (1st, Div 2C) v LANSDOWNE (1st, Div 1A), Hamilton Park, 2pm

Provincial Cups – Sligo (Connacht Senior Cup): Beat Galwegians 21-12; Beat Corinthians 29-27 (final); Lansdowne (Leinster Senior League Cup): Beat Old Belvedere 50-0; Beat UCD 19-13; Beat St. Mary’s College 31-20; Beat Clontarf 9-0 (final)

Preview: The first of two unique semi-final clashes sees two of the Ulster Bank League’s current table toppers face off in Strandhill. After 11 rounds, Lansdowne are still unbeaten and hold a stunning 13-point lead at the summit, having also claimed the Leinster Senior League trophy against Clontarf in November. Last winners of the Bateman Cup back in 1931, they will relish an opportunity to break up Cork Constitution’s modern-day dominance of this historic All-Ireland competition.

Mike Ruddock’s men are a daunting prospect, on current form, for any club side, but hosts Sligo have been motoring along nicely at the top of Division 2C and are licking their lips at the prospect of testing themselves against the illustrious headquarters club. Ross Mannion’s charges created their own piece of history before Christmas when winning Sligo’s first Connacht Senior Cup since 1914.

They claimed the scalp of Corinthians in a hard-fought final. Captained by industrious flanker Shane Boyle, they have the skilful Mike Wells and Ryan Feehily in play-making roles. The Sligo squad has an average age of 23, and while Lansdowne also boast plenty of youthful talent, they could have the game’s decisive player in former Munster out-half Scott Deasy, if he features again at number 10.

IrishRugby.ie Prediction: Lansdowne to win

CITY OF ARMAGH (4th, Div 2A) v CORK CONSTITUTION (2nd, Div 1A), Palace Grounds

Provincial Cups – City of Armagh (Ulster Senior Cup): Beat Banbridge 16-6; Beat Malone 26-19; Beat Ballymena 17-13 (final); Cork Constitution (Munster Senior Cup): Beat Shannon 20-12; Beat UCC 44-10; Lost 23-14 to Garryowen

Preview: Having recently relinquished their grip on the Munster Senior Cup, Cork Constitution will want to put up another proud defence of their Bateman Cup crown as they eye an incredible sixth title in as many years. They have won their last ten matches in the All-Ireland competition, with man-of-the-match Brian Hayes inspiring last year’s 18-13 final victory at Old Belvedere.

City Armagh lie two divisions below Con but are well-coached by Willie Faloon and will play with no pressure on them, promising to ‘give it a lash and hold nothing back’ in their first ever Bateman Cup appearance. They are set to line out with the same side that secured their maiden Ulster Senior Cup against Ballymena last month, with centre Johnny Pollock and prop Daryl Morton as the only changes from the 17-13 success.

The battle at half-back should be intriguing one as Armagh’s impressive pairing of Cormac Fox and Harry Doyle come up against the experienced Gerry Hurley, who captains Con in the injury-enforced absence of Niall Kenneally, and Aidan Moynihan. Gavin Duffy and Vincent O’Brien are poised to come back into the visitors’ front row, with influential lock Conor Kindregan, who missed last week’s 26-0 league victory over Buccaneers, fit enough for a bench spot.

IrishRugby.ie Prediction: Cork Constitution to win

– The final is scheduled for the weekend of April 21/22

Competition Rules:

(i) If teams are tied at full-time, extra-time of 10 minutes each way will be played
(ii) If still tied, the team that has scored the most tries will be the winners
(iii) If still tied, the away team will be declared the winners

Clubs may tog out up to seven replacements for both the semi-finals and the final and rolling substitutions will apply.

Nationally or provincially contracted players may not play in the Bateman Cup where a Division 1 club is drawn against a Division 2 club. Development and Academy contracted players are eligible to play in this competition.

All-Ireland Cup Champions’ Roll Of Honour:

2016/17 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2015/16 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2014/15 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2013/14 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2012/13 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2011/12 – Garryowen (Bateman Cup)
2010/11 – Bruff (Bateman Cup)
2009/10 – Cork Constitution
2008/09 – Ballynahinch
2007/08 – Shannon
2006/07 – Garryowen
2005/06 – Cork Constitution