Jump to main content


Seven-Strong Irish Contingent Make Barbarians Women’s Squad

Seven-Strong Irish Contingent Make Barbarians Women’s Squad

The Barbarians will deploy a squad packed with international experience for their first ever Women’s fixture, against Munster at Thomond Park on Friday, November 10 (kick-off 4.45pm).

A 23-strong panel with 1019 international caps between them has been named by head coach Giselle Mather. 
The side is a cosmopolitan one with seven different nations represented. Veteran New Zealand scrum half Emma Jensen flies in from Auckland to take part, while Canada provide Kelly Russell and Amanda Thornborough.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are seven players from Ireland and four from the Old Belvedere club in Ailis Egan, Marie Louise Reilly, Jackie Shiels and Nora Stapleton. Ireland’s 2013 Grand Slam-winning captain Fiona Coghlan, a proud UL Bohemians club woman, will don her boots again as will retired scrum half Tania Rosser from Blackrock, while Galwegians flanker Edel McMahon will be the squad’s uncapped player – a Barbarians tradition.

“It’s a huge honour for the esteemed and experienced athletes that have been selected to wear the Barbarians shirt for the first time,” said Mather. “They represent both the journey of the development of Women’s rugby and on November 10 will be taking a big step into the future of the game.

“Everyone involved in the management of the team is looking forward to making this a truly memorable Barbarians experience for the players and paving the way for things to come.”

Entry to the historic first Barbarians Women’s game at Thomond Park is included free with tickets to the Barbarians v Tonga match later in the day. Prices start at €;15 for adults and €;10 for children. Visit www.ticketmaster.ie to buy your ticket(s) now.

BARBARIANS WOMEN’S Squad (v Munster):

Backs (11) –

Emma Jensen (College Rifles/New Zealand) 49 caps
Elen Evans (Caernarfon/Wales) 73
Megan Goddard (Gloucester-Hartpury/England) 5
Camille Grassineau (Stade Francais/France) 18
Vicki Jackson (Wasps/England) 2
Christelle Le Duff (SO Villonguet/France) 70
Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Ireland) 58
Georgina Roberts (Darlington MP Sharks/England) 15
Jackie Shiels (Old Belvedere/Ireland) 22
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Ireland) 50

Amanda Thornborough (Westshore/Canada) 23

Forwards (12) –

Tracy Balmer (Worcester/Scotland) 43
Susie Brown (Richmond/Scotland) 62
Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Ireland) 85
Lenaig Corson (Stade Rennais/France) 24
Claire Cripps (Wasps/England) 43
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Ireland) 46
Becky Essex (Richmond/England) 57
Amy Garnett (Saracens/England) 100
Edel McMahon (Galwegians) 0
Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Ireland) 54

Kelly Russell (Toronto Nomads/Canada) 53
Rachel Taylor (Caernarfon/Wales) 67

Head Coach: Giselle Mather
Assistant Coach: Lisa Burgess
Team Manager: Fiona Stockley