Jump to main content


McNamara Names His First Leinster ‘A’ Team

McNamara Names His First Leinster ‘A’ Team

Leinster ‘A’ head coach Noel McNamara has named his team to face Doncaster Knights in their first British & Irish Cup pool game at Castle Park on Saturday (kick-off 2.30pm).

Ed Byrne will captain the side with his brother Bryan also named in the front row, with Vakh Abdaladze at tighthead. Mick Kearney and Josh Murphy form the second row partnership, with Peadar Timmins, Will Connors and Max Deegan, who made his first senior start for the province last month, named together in the back row.

Year one Academy recruit Hugh O’Sullivan is named at scrum half with former Blackrock College student Conor Dean, who played for the Ireland Under-20s last season, starting at out-half.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jordan Larmour, who has featured for Leinster in the GUINNESS PRO14 this season and scored one try, starts at full-back, with Ireland Sevens internationals Hugo Keenan and Ian Fitzpatrick occupying the two wing berths.

Skerries man Ciaran Frawley, who has impressed for UCD in recent weeks, and fellow College player Jimmy O’Brien are paired together in midfield to complete a youthful and exciting Leinster ‘A’ back-line.

Meanwhile, tickets for Leinster ‘A’ v Cardiff Blues Premiership Select in the second round of the B&I Cup at Donnybrook next Saturday (kick-off 7.30pm) are on sale now from €;10/5. Click here for more information.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Doncaster Knights): Jordan Larmour; Hugo Keenan, Jimmy O’Brien, Ciaran Frawley, Ian Fitzpatrick; Conor Dean, Hugh O’Sullivan; Ed Byrne (capt), Bryan Byrne, Vakh Abdaladze, Mick Kearney, Josh Murphy, Peadar Timmins, Will Connors, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Peter Dooley, Jeremy Loughman, Oisin Dowling, Nick McCarthy, Harry Byrne, Michael Silvester.