Jump to main content


Van Der Flier To Win 50th Leinster Cap Against Cheetahs

Van Der Flier To Win 50th Leinster Cap Against Cheetahs

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named the team to take on the Toyota Cheetahs in Friday’s GUINNESS PRO14 match in Bloemfontein (kick-off 8pm local time/7pm Irish time).

There are eight personnel changes and three positional switches to the side that accounted for the Southern Kings (31-10) in round 3 last weekend. Leo Cullen has also given an injury update on three other players.

Luke McGrath (arm) and Fergus McFadden (hamstring) were not considered for selection and, as a result, have flown home to Dublin to begin preparations for the Edinburgh game next week. Both players are expected to be available for selection for that round 5 fixture.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In addition, James Ryan (foot) was not considered for selection but has not flown home to Dublin with McGrath and McFadden as he is unlikely to be available for the Edinburgh clash. Caelan Doris has joined the squad in Cape Town as cover.

In team news, Cullen has again selected Joey Carbery at full-back while Dave Kearney is also retained but swaps wings this week. Barry Daly, who turned 25 earlier this week, is named on the left wing for his first start of the campaign.

With Isa Nacewa captaining the side from inside centre, Noel Reid shifts outside him to the number 13 shirt. Jamison Gibson-Park returns at half-back alongside Ross Byrne, who landed three conversions against the Kings.

There is an all-new front row with Cian Healy, James Tracy and Michael Bent starting having come off the bench in Port Elizabeth, while the retained Ross Molony is joined in the second row by Mick Kearney who slots in for his first start of the season.

In a reshuffled back row, the fit-again Jordi Murphy moves to the blindside, Jack Conan continues at number 8, and the incoming Josh van der Flier will win his 50th cap at openside. Another notable inclusion is prop Peter Dooley who returns from injury to take his place on the bench.

LEINSTER (v Toyota Cheetahs): Joey Carbery; Dave Kearney, Noel Reid, Isa Nacewa (capt), Barry Daly; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Cian Healy, James Tracy, Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Mick Kearney, Jordi Murphy, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Andrew Porter, Rhys Ruddock, Max Deegan, Nick McCarthy, Cathal Marsh, Rory O’Loughlin.