Jump to main content


Timoney To Start At Number 8 For Ulster

Timoney To Start At Number 8 For Ulster

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has named his team for Friday night’s GUINNESS PRO14 clash with the Dragons at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

Nick Timoney will make his first appearance of the season after being named at number 8, as in-form Ulster aim to make it four consecutive wins in the PRO14. Iain Henderson, who impressed on the British & Irish Lions tour to New Zealand, is also set to play his first game of the campaign for the province after being named on the bench.
Timoney, who is a member of the Abbey Insurance Ulster Academy and featured prominently for the Ireland Sevens squad during the summer as they qualified for next year’s World Cup, will join Clive Ross and captain Chris Henry in the back row.
Tighthead Rodney Ah You and lock Robbie Diack are introduced to the front five alongside Kyle McCall, Rob Herring and Alan O’Connor, who produced a robust performance in last Friday’s encouraging home win over the Scarlets.
Darren Cave will make his first start of the season and will combine in midfield with last week’s man-of-the-match, Stuart McCloskey. Paul Marshall and Peter Nelson will form the half-back partnership.
Jacob Stockdale is retained on the left wing, with Tommy Bowe selected on the opposite flank, while Kiwi star Charles Piutau has recovered from a hamstring injury to take his place at full-back.
The Ballymena trio of John Andrew, Andrew Warwick and Matthew Rea will provide forward cover along with Henderson and Wiehahn Herbst. David Shanahan will offer a scrum half option from the bench, while Brett Herron and Robert Lyttle could make their seasonal debuts after being named among the replacements.
Tickets for the round 4 fixture between Ulster and Bernard Jackman’s Dragons – including in the Grandstand – are available from ulsterrugby.com/buytickets.
ULSTER (v Dragons): Charles Piutau; Tommy Bowe, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Peter Nelson, Paul Marshall; Kyle McCall, Rob Herring, Rodney Ah You, Robbie Diack, Alan O’Connor, Clive Ross, Chris Henry (capt), Nick Timoney.

Replacements: John Andrew, Andrew Warwick, Wiehahn Herbst, Iain Henderson, Matthew Rea, David Shanahan, Brett Herron, Robert Lyttle.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article