Jump to main content


Leinster Welcome Back Ireland Quartet For Gloucester Game

Leinster Welcome Back Ireland Quartet For Gloucester Game

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named an extended 30-man squad for Friday’s Bank of Ireland pre-season match against Gloucester at St. Mary’s College RFC (kick-off 7.30pm).

There is a welcome return from injury for a number of players, including Rob Kearney, Dave Kearney, Jordi Murphy and Fergus McFadden, while new signing Scott Fardy will make his first appearance in Leinster blue.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

However, Leo Cullen unfortunately confirmed today that Tom Daly suffered an ACL injury to his right knee against Perpignan last Friday. As a result, the Carlow man will undergo surgery ahead of a lengthy rehabilitation programme.

In team news, Rob Kearney, who last played for Leinster in January against Castres in the Champions Cup, lines out at full back with Ireland Sevens international Hugo Keenan on the right wing and Kearney’s younger brother Dave on the left. Dave was similarly hampered by injuries last season and only made eight appearances for Leinster.

Captain Isa Nacewa will line out in the number 12 jersey with Jimmy O’Brien, another of the Ireland Sevens internationals included, outside him, while Jamison Gibson-Park and Ross Byrne form the half-back pairing.

Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne and Michael Bent start in the front row, with hooker Byrne having scored a try in last weekend’s loss to Perpignan. St. Mary’s clubman Ian Nagle starts in the second row with experienced Wallaby Fardy beside him.

The back row sees a very welcome return for Jordi Murphy at openside flanker. The Lansdowne clubman last played in Ireland’s famous win over New Zealand in Chicago last November. Having scored an early try that night, he went off with an ACL injury which ultimately ended his season. He is joined by Josh Murphy at blindside and Max Deegan at number 8.

Cullen has opted for an extended squad of 30 players for the game on Friday evening, with tickets still on sale for the 7.30pm kick-off at the Templeville Road ground. Tickets must be purchased in advance here or cash only at the gate (adults €;10, children €;5).

Parking is limited to the first 400 and is on a first come, first served basis. Public car parking will be provided in Templeogue College, opposite the main entrance to St. Mary’s College RFC, at a cost of €;5 per car. Overflow car parking will be available at St. Pius X Church on College Drive, Templeogue.

LEINSTER (v Gloucester): Rob Kearney; Hugo Keenan, Jimmy O’Brien, Isa Nacewa (capt), Dave Kearney; Ross Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne, Michael Bent, Ian Nagle, Scott Fardy, Josh Murphy, Jordi Murphy, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Sean McNulty, Ed Byrne, Vakh Abdaladze, Oisin Dowling, Peadar Timmins, Charlie Rock, Cathal Marsh, Ian Fitzpatrick, Oisin Heffernan, Mick Kearney, Will Connors, Barry Daly, Adam Byrne, Fergus McFadden, Jordan Larmour.