Jump to main content


O’Flynn To Captain Ireland Women As Squad Is Finalised

O’Flynn To Captain Ireland Women As Squad Is Finalised

There are a number of changes to the Ireland Women’s Sevens squad which will complete in the final leg of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series this weekend in Clermont-Ferrand, France.

Captain Lucy Mulhall, Ashleigh Baxter and Louise Galvin picked up knocks during last week’s Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series tournament in Malemort where Ireland secured their best ever finish of third. The trio have been replaced by Claire Boles, Chloe Blackmore and Niamh Byrne.
Enniskillen youngster Boles, who was a UK School Games bronze medal winner with the Ireland U-18s last September, and Railway Union out-half/centre Byrne join Anna McGann, who was the 13th player in Malemort, as the uncapped players in the squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Boles, Blackmore and McGann have all come through the Ireland underage Sevens set-up before joining the senior programme, while Byrne did likewise this season having impressed at club level. Audrey O’Flynn will captain Ireland this weekend in the absence of Mulhall.
Commenting on the changes, the squad’s head coach and IRFU Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby, Anthony Eddy, said: “This weekend provides an opportunity for some players to gain valuable World Series exposure, and also as a result of playing two tournaments in a row, it is important we have some fresh players ready to perform.

“In a physical opening round of the Grand Prix last weekend, Lucy, Ashleigh and Louise picked up knocks, so while we could have pushed to have them available for this weekend, we made the decision to include Claire, Chloe, Anna and Niamh to provide them with some game-time and valuable experience.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series – Leg 6, Gabriel Montpied Stadium, Clermont-Ferrand, Saturday, June 24-Sunday, June 25):
Chloe Blackmore (St. Mary’s/Munster)
Claire Boles (Enniskillen/Ulster) *
Niamh Byrne (Railway Union/Leinster) *
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Kim Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union (dual status)/Leinster)
Anna McGann (Buccaneers/UCD (dual status)/Leinster) *
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)
Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland Sevens Programme) (capt) 
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Megan Williams (St. Mary’s)
* Denotes uncapped player at this level


Clermont 7s – Pool A:

Saturday, June 24

USA v Ireland, Gabriel Montpied Stadium, 12pm local time/11am Irish time
New Zealand v Ireland, Gabriel Montpied Stadium, 3.06pm local time/2.06pm Irish time
Ireland v Japan, Gabriel Montpied Stadium, 5.29pm local time/4.29pm Irish time

Sunday, June 25


For more information on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series, click here..