Jump to main content


Irish Quartet To Start For Lions Against Crusaders

Irish Quartet To Start For Lions Against Crusaders

Three-time tourist Alun Wyn Jones will lead the British & Irish Lions for their third tour match against the Crusaders at AMI Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 7.35pm local time/8.35am Irish time).

Wales skipper Alun Wyn Jones captained the Lions in the third Test in Australia in 2013 as well as playing in all the Tests in South Africa in 2009.
And the centurion-capped second row will bring all his experience to a starting line-up which sees Conor Murray, Sean O’Brien, Jonathan Davies and George North start their first tour games. Murray and O’Brien’s Ireland colleagues Tadhg Furlong and Peter O’Mahony also feature in the XV, while Jack McGrath, CJ Stander and Jonathan Sexton are on the bench.
Lions head coach Warren Gatland said: “The aim was always to start everyone in the first three matches and this selection ensures that we achieve this. This is an experienced team with nine of the starting 15 players having featured in 2013.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Our squad is working hard and we are seeing improvement in their performances both at training and in the games. Last night’s result against the Blues was disappointing and we know we can’t afford to give away so many penalties.

“We are looking forward to the clash against the Crusaders and we expect a tough game against the most successful team in Super Rugby history.”

BRITISH & IRISH LIONS Team & Replacements (v Crusaders, 2017 British & Irish Lions Tour, AMI Stadium, Christchurch, New Zealand, Saturday, June 10, kick-off 7.35pm local time/8.35am Irish time):

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors/Scotland) 783
14. George North (Northampton Saints/Wales) #792
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets/Wales) #778
12. Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors/England) #815
11. Liam Williams (Scarlets/Wales) #832
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens/England) #780
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Ireland) #790
Mako Vunipola (Saracens/England) #787
2. Jamie George (Saracens/England) #818
3. Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Ireland) #817
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales) (capt) #761
5. George Kruis (Saracens/England) #819
6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Ireland) #833
7. Sean O’Brien (Leinster/Ireland) #796
Taulupe Faletau (Bath/Wales) #779


16. Ken Owens (Scarlets/Wales) #829
17. Jack McGrath (Leinster/Ireland) #827
18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers/England) #794
19. Maro Itoje (Saracens/England) #825
20. CJ Stander (Munster/Ireland) #831
21. Rhys Webb (Ospreys/Wales) #820
22. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/Ireland) #791
23. Anthony Watson (Bath/England) #816

# Denotes Lions number