Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Watch: Rugby World Cup Pool Draw Live

Watch: Rugby World Cup Pool Draw Live

The Rugby World Cup Pool Draw takes place in Kyoto, Japan at 9am Irish time. Will Ireland be drawn with old rivals Argentina? Will we get Scotland or hosts Japan? Tune in to live coverage of the draw to find out

Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan comprises of 20 teams allocated into four pools of five teams. The 12 directly-qualified teams from Rugby World Cup 2015 will be seeded based on the World Rugby Rankings on Wednesday, May 10, and positioned into three bands of four teams.

Band 1 comprises the four highest-ranked directly-qualified teams – New Zealand, England, Australia, Ireland.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Band 2 contains the next four highest-ranked directly-qualified teams – Scotland, France, South Africa, Wales.

Band 3 has the final four directly-qualified teams – Argentina, Japan, Georgia, Italy.

The eight qualifying places will be allocated to the other two bands:

Band 4 – Africa 1, Americas 1, Europe 1, Oceania 1
Band 5 – Oceania 2, Americas 2, Play-off winners, Repechage winners

Watch the pool draw live from Kyoto, Japan here: