Jump to main content


Timoney On The Bench For Ulster’s Clash With Cardiff

Timoney On The Bench For Ulster’s Clash With Cardiff

Director of rugby Les Kiss has named a strong team for the visit of Cardiff Blues to Kingspan Stadium on Friday night as Ulster aim for a seventh consecutive GUINNESS PRO12 win (kick-off 7.35pm).

Rory Best returns to provincial action and he will lead the side from hooker as regular captains Rob Herring and Andrew Trimble are both named on the bench. The latter makes a welcome return having recovered from a hand injury sustained against Benetton Treviso last month.
Joining them on the bench is Hughes Insurance Academy back rower Nick Timoney, who will make his senior debut if called upon by Les Kiss. The 21-year-old has produced notable displays for Queen’s University, Ulster ‘A’ and the Ireland Sevens team over the past couple of seasons.
There are two other personnel changes to the Ulster starting line-up from the 27-17 victory over the Dragons a fortnight ago, with Roger Wilson and Paddy Jackson brought into the XV.
Best is the only new face in the front five, with Andrew Warwick, Wiehahn Herbst, Kieran Treadwell and Alan O’Connor all retained. Wilson’s inclusion at number 8 means that Sean Reidy moves to openside flanker, while Iain Henderson will start again on the blindside.
Jackson, who made an impressive appearance as a replacement two weeks ago, will renew his half-back partnership with Ruan Pienaar. Stuart Olding and Luke Marshall are selected in midfield and the back-three of Craig Gilroy, Charles Piutau and Jared Payne is unchanged.
Callum Black, Rodney Ah You and Robbie Diack will join Herring and Timoney as forward replacements on the bench, while Trimble, Paul Marshall and Jacob Stockdale are the back-line options.
Over 14,500 tickets have been sold for Friday’s round 19 encounter which is the province’s penultimate competitive home fixture of the season, but there is still availability in most areas – please visit ulsterrugby.com/buytickets.
ULSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Jared Payne; Craig Gilroy, Luke Marshall, Stuart Olding, Charles Piutau; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Andrew Warwick, Rory Best (capt), Wiehahn Herbst, Kieran Treadwell, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson, Sean Reidy, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Callum Black, Rodney Ah You, Robbie Diack, Nick Timoney, Paul Marshall, Jacob Stockdale, Andrew Trimble.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article