Jump to main content


O’Halloran To Become Connacht’s Latest PRO12 Centurion

O’Halloran To Become Connacht’s Latest PRO12 Centurion

The Connacht team has been named for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 round 19 clash with Edinburgh at Myreside (kick-off 7.35pm).

There are seven changes to the side beaten in Zebre last weekend, with Ireland internationals Tiernan O’Halloran and Kieran Marmion among the players drafted back into the province’s starting XV.

Set to make his 100th PRO12 appearance, O’Halloran has been among the top full-backs in the competition again this season with the most metres gained and more carries than any other player.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With five personnel changes in the back-line, Marmion starts at scrum half and Niyi Adeolokun, having shaken off a niggle, also returns on the right wing. Danie Poolman switches to the left flank, while Steve Crosbie makes his second start for the westerners at out-half.

After making his return from injury off the bench in Parma last week, Eoin Griffin is handed a starting place and will partner Bundee Aki in the centre.

There is one change in the front row as Dominic Robertson-McCoy replaces Finlay Bealham with Denis Buckley and Tom McCartney retaining their places. Quinn Roux and Andrew Browne continue in the second row with Eoin McKeon moving to blindside flanker as Jake Heenan has recovered from a minor shin injury to start on the openside. Captain John Muldoon continues at number 8.

Shane Delahunt, JP Cooney and Bealham provide the front row cover with James Cannon, Sean O’Brien, Caolin Blade, Jack Carty and Josh Rowland completing the replacements.

Ahead of Connacht’s trip to Scotland, head coach Pat Lam said: “This is our third away game in a row and after last week’s game in Italy, we have an opportunity to produce a performance we can be proud of.

“Although we have been creating numerous opportunities to score, it is all about making sure we take those chances tomorrow night. Edinburgh are always tough, physical opposition and we are looking forward to a big challenge on our first visit to Myreside.”

CONNACHT (v Edinburgh): Tiernan O’Halloran; Niyi Adeolokun, Eoin Griffin, Bundee Aki, Danie Poolman; Steve Crosbie, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Dominic Robertson-McCoy, Quinn Roux, Andrew Browne, Eoin McKeon, Jake Heenan, John Muldoon (capt).

Replacements: Shane Delahunt, JP Cooney, Finlay Bealham, James Cannon, Sean O’Brien, Caolin Blade, Jack Carty, Josh Rowland.