Jump to main content


Tim Murphy To Start At Scrum Half For Leinster ‘A’

Tim Murphy To Start At Scrum Half For Leinster ‘A’

Leinster ‘A’ will face recently-defeated British & Irish Cup quarter-finalists Ulster ‘A’ in an interprovincial challenge match at Banbridge RFC on Friday (kick-off 5pm).

Peadar Timmins will captain a youthful Leinster ‘A’ side, featuring at blindside flanker in a back row completed by fellow former Ireland Under-20 forwards Will Connors and Max Deegan.

Mick Kearney and Ian Nagle form an experienced second row partnership, with Ed Byrne, Paddy Finlay and Andrew Porter, who has been gaining experience at tighthead prop for UCD recently, lining out together in the front row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tim Murphy, who played with the Leinster Under-19s earlier this season, will start at scrum half, with Cathal Marsh, who helped St. Mary’s College to victory against Dublin University last Saturday, named as the starting number 10.

There is PRO12 experience in both the province’s back-three and midfield. Barry Daly, who has scored three tries in nine PRO12 appearances this season, starts on the left wing, with Hugo Keenan, who made his senior debut away to Zebre back in November, on the opposite wing. Billy Dardis gets the nod at full-back, and in midfield, Carlow man Tom Daly will be partnered by Clontarf’s Conor O’Brien.

Among the replacements are senior-capped front rowers Sean Cronin and Peter Dooley, as well as three members of this year’s Ireland Under-20 squad – Oisin Dowling, Ciaran Frawley and back-three flyer Jordan Larmour.

Admission on the gate at Banbridge RFC’s Rifle Park is just £5 for adults, and under-18s go free.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Ulster ‘A’): Billy Dardis; Hugo Keenan, Conor O’Brien, Tom Daly, Barry Daly; Cathal Marsh, Tim Murphy; Ed Byrne, Paddy Finlay, Andrew Porter, Mick Kearney, Ian Nagle, Peadar Timmins (capt), Will Connors, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Oisin Heffernan, Oisin Dowling, Richard Dunne, Ciaran Frawley, Jack Power, Jordan Larmour.