Jump to main content


Munster ‘A’ Make Two Changes For B&I Cup Semi-Final

Munster ‘A’ Make Two Changes For B&I Cup Semi-Final

Munster ‘A’ head coach Peter Malone has named his team for Friday night’s British & Irish Cup semi-final against Ealing Trailfinders at CIT in Cork (kick-off 7.30pm).

There are two changes to the side that defeated Ulster 26-3 at the quarter-final stage. Following his involvement in the Under-20 Six Nations, Munster Academy play-maker Bill Johnston returns at out-half with his older brother, David, switching to the full-back position.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The other personnel change comes on the left winger with Alex Wootton making his return from the shoulder injury he sustained away to Rotherham Titans in December.

Should they feature off the province’s bench, Mark Chisholm and Shannon scrum half Jack Stafford will make their British & Irish Cup debuts. Second row Chisholm is included in his first matchday squad following an extended break on the sidelines due to concussion, while Stafford was another player who represented the Ireland U-20s recently.

B&I Cup champions in 2012, Munster ‘A’ have not reached the last-four of the competition since April 2013 – Leinster ‘A’ defeating them 17-15 at Garryowen – while Ealing are first-time semi-finalists following their 84-7 demolition of the Scarlets Premiership Select three weeks ago.

Munster ‘A’ v Ealing Trailfinders tickets are priced at €;10 for adults, €;5 for juniors and students, and family packs (two adults and two juniors) are available at €;20. Tickets can be purchased online here, at CIT from 6.30pm on Friday, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Thomond Park and Irish Independent Park, or by calling 061 421103.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Ealing Trailfinders): David Johnston; Dan Goggin, Sam Arnold, Cian Bohane (capt), Alex Wootton; Bill Johnston, John Poland; Peter McCabe, Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott, John Madigan, Darren O’Shea, Sean O’Connor, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, Liam O’Connor, Rory Burke, Mark Chisholm, Gavin Coombes, Jack Stafford, Stephen Fitzgerald.