Jump to main content


Deasy To Captain Ireland Club XV Against England Counties

Deasy To Captain Ireland Club XV Against England Counties

The Ireland Club XV to face England Counties in the Ulster Bank Club International at Temple Hill on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

The side, which is captained by Lansdowne out-half Scott Deasy, will take on England Counties on St. Patrick’s Day at the home of Cork Constitution FC.

New coaches Morgan Lennon and Johne Murphy have named a strong starting line-up which includes six players who have played for the Ireland Club team already – Deasy, the Clontarf trio of Matt D’Arcy, Ben Reilly and Tony Ryan,  Garryowen’s Neil Cronin and Sean Coughlan from Old Belvedere.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

On the bench Paul Pritchard of Old Belvedere, Dublin University’s Paddy Finlay and Ger Sweeney of host club Cork Con have also earned their spurs in the Club International previously.

In total, there are nine clubs are represented in the selected matchday squad – Clontarf (5), Lansdowne (4), Cork Constitution (3), Dublin University (3), Garryowen (2), Old Belvedere (2), Young Munster (2), Terenure College (1) and Naas (1).
Pat Horgan, Head of SME Banking – South Midlands and West, Ulster Bank, commented: “We are delighted to be involved in the Ulster Bank Club International game this St. Patrick’s Day as our Irish Club representatives line out against the England Counties.

“The Club International further enhances Ulster Bank’s dedication to club rugby in Ireland as we enter an exciting weekend in the sport.

“Rugby clubs are the foundation of success for our national and provincial teams and as Official Community Rugby Partner to the IRFU, Ulster Bank is proud to continue our support of the grassroots game across Ireland.”
Ireland Club XV v England Counties tickets are available at the gate and are priced at €;20 for families, €;10 for adults and €;5 for students. Tickets can also be purchased at the following outlets: the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, and Finns Corner, on the corner of Grand Parade & Washington Street. Credit Cards not accepted.

IRELAND CLUB Team & Replacements (v England Counties, 2017 Ulster Bank Club International Match, Temple Hill, Cork Constitution FC, Friday, March 17, kick-off 7.30pm):
15. Eamonn Mills (Lansdowne)
14. Sean Coughlan (Old Belvedere) *
13. Michael Courtney (Dublin University)
12. Matt D’Arcy (Clontarf) *
11. Rob Jermyn (Cork Constitution)
10. Scott Deasy (Lansdowne) (capt) *
9. Neil Cronin (Garryowen) *
1. Vakh Abdaladze (Clontarf)
2. Max Abbott (Cork Constitution)
3. Ian Prendiville (Lansdowne) *
4. Willie Earle (Lansdowne)
5. Ben Reilly (Clontarf) *
6. Alan Kennedy (Young Munster)
7. Karl Moran (Clontarf)
8. Tony Ryan (Clontarf) *

16. Paddy Finlay (Dublin University) *
17. Ger Sweeney (Cork Constitution) *
18. Eric O’Sullivan (Dublin University)
19. Kyle McCoy (Terenure College)
20. Andrew O’Byrne (Garryowen)
21. Paul Pritchard (Old Belvedere) *
22. Rob Guerin (Young Munster)
23. Peter Osborne (Naas)

* Previously capped at this level