Jump to main content



Tipuric To Win 50th Cap As Wales Pick Unchanged Team

Tipuric To Win 50th Cap As Wales Pick Unchanged Team

Ospreys flanker Justin Tipuric will win his 50th cap as Wales name an unchanged team to face Ireland in Friday’s RBS 6 Nations clash at the Principality Stadium (kick-off 8.05pm).

Justin Tipuric, who made his international debut in Cardiff in 2011, will take to the pitch in his 25th RBS 6 Nations encounter and line up alongside Sam Warburton and Ross Moriarty in the back row.

Captain Alun Wyn Jones and Jake Ball continue their partnership in the second row with Rob Evans, Ken Owens and Tomas Francis combining again in the front row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ospreys pair Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar start at half-back with Scarlets duo Scott Williams and Jonathan Davies retained together in midfield. Liam Williams, George North and Leigh Halfpenny make up an experienced back-three.

“We felt it was important the same group of players had the opportunity to go out and perform on Friday so we have named an unchanged matchday squad,” said Wales head coach Rob Howley.

“Friday night is an opportunity for us. There is a lot of experience in our group and you don’t become a bad team overnight. We want to show what we can do and that experience will be very important this week.

“We know we need to be more clinical and we need to execute better under pressure and we have been working hard on that during the last few weeks.

“Ireland are one of the in-form sides in world rugby and are coached very well and packed with experience and there are a number of interesting match-up across both teams.

“We always say we are fortunate to have the best supporters in the world and we are eager to put in a performance for them under the lights at the Principality Stadium on Friday.”

WALES Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2017 RBS 6 Nations Championship, Principality Stadium, Friday, March 10, kick-off 8.05pm):

Player/Club/Caps –

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon) 69
14. George North (Northampton Saints) 67
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) 62
12. Scott Williams (Scarlets) 44
11. Liam Williams (Scarlets) 41
10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys) 54
9. Rhys Webb (Ospreys) 26
1. Rob Evans (Scarlets) 15
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets) 48
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) 20
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets) 24
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (capt) 108
6. Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues) 72
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) 49
8. Ross Moriarty (Gloucester) 15


16. Scott Baldwin (Ospreys) 31
17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) 10
18. Samson Lee (Scarlets) 32
19. Luke Charteris (Bath) 72
20. Taulupe Faletau (Bath) 64
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) 23
22. Sam Davies (Ospreys) 5
23. Jamie Roberts (Harlequins) 89