Jump to main content


Leinster Make Three Changes For Scarlets Match

Leinster Make Three Changes For Scarlets Match

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has announced the team to take on the Scarlets in Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 showdown at the RDS (kick-off 7.35pm).

There are three changes to the side that won at Rodney Parade last Friday and further changes on the bench. Joey Carbery starts at full-back for the second week in a row, with Adam Byrne and Fergus McFadden on the right and left wing respectively.

It is as you were in the centre also with Noel Reid and Zane Kirchner donning the number 12 and 13 jerseys. The first change is in the half-backs where Luke McGrath comes in to partner Ross Byrne.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland international Richardt Strauss will captain Leinster for the first time at the RDS as he gets the nod at hooker, with Peter Dooley and Michael Bent continuing either side of him in the front row.

Ross Molony is retained in the second row but Hayden Triggs comes in from the start this week having scored off the bench against the Dragons. Dan Leavy is selected at openside flanker having been Ireland’s 24th man last weekend against France, while Rhys Ruddock and Jack Conan, a two-try man-of-the-match in Newport, continue at blindside and number 8 respectively.

Bryan Byrne comes onto the bench where he will be joined by his twin brother Ed who made his first appearance in 28 months last weekend away to the Dragons. Should he get an opportunity off the bench on Saturday, it will be the young prop’s first run-out at the RDS since October 2014. Fellow Carlow man Tom Daly is also back from a knee injury to take his place on the bench.

Leinster v Scarlets tickets are still on sale online here, or they can be bought tomorrow from the ticket office located inside the Anglesea Road gate from 6pm. Please note that traffic restrictions will be in place and parking limited due to a number of other events on in the RDS over the weekend.

LEINSTER (v Scarlets): Joey Carbery; Adam Byrne, Zane Kirchner, Noel Reid, Fergus McFadden; Ross Byrne, Luke McGrath; Peter Dooley, Richardt Strauss (capt), Michael Bent, Ross Molony, Hayden Triggs, Rhys Ruddock, Dan Leavy, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Ed Byrne, Mike Ross, Mike McCarthy, Max Deegan, Jamison Gibson Park, Tom Daly, Barry Daly.