Jump to main content


Holland To Captain Munster Against Cardiff

Holland To Captain Munster Against Cardiff

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has made five changes and named Billy Holland as captain for Saturday’s GUINNESS PRO12 encounter with Cardiff Blues at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park (kick-off 5.15pm).

The two changes in the pack see Darren O’Shea come in to partner skipper Billy Holland in the second row with Robin Copeland making his return from a thumb injury to start at number 8.

Across the back-line, Ian Keatley rejoins Duncan Williams at half-back with Rory Scannell and Jaco Taute resuming their partnership in midfield. Scannell has overcome a knock to his knee and Taute makes the positional switch from full-back. The final change sees Andrew Conway return at full-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In managing player-load, New Zealander Tyler Bleyendaal was unavailable for selection this week with lock Dave Foley missing the round 17 game due to illness.

Munster Academy member and Ireland Under-20 international Fineen Wycherley is included on the province’s bench for the second consecutive week. He will win his first Munster senior cap if called upon.

MUNSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony, Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer, Darren O’Shea, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Peter McCabe, Brian Scott, Fineen Wycherley, Conor Oliver, Abrie Griesel, Dan Goggin, Francis Saili.