Jump to main content



Ireland Squad Named For Final Two Rounds Of Championship

Ireland Squad Named For Final Two Rounds Of Championship

The Ireland coaches have named their squad for the final two rounds of the 2017 RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Ireland travel to Cardiff in round 4 to take on Wales at the Principality Stadium on Friday week (March 10) before hosting England on Saturday, March 18 at the Aviva Stadium.

Jared Payne makes a welcome return to the squad for the first time since he picked up a kidney injury against Australia in the GUINNESS Series last November.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 37-man squad also sees the return of Joey Carbery who also featured for Ireland in that game.

IRELAND Squad (v Wales & England, 2017 RBS 6 Nations Championship):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –
Backs (17):

Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 3
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) *
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 57
Craig Gilroy (Bangor/Ulster) 10
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 27
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 22
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 75
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 11
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) 9
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 1
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 56
Tiernan O’Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3
Jared Payne (Ulster) 19
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 6
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 64
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster) 70
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 31

Forwards (20):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt) 102
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 1
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 10
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 14
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 65
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vice-capt) 94
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 30
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 17
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 1
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 39
Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster) 47
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 38
Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 1
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster) 45
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 4
Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 2
CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 13
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 45
James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 2
* Denotes uncapped player