Jump to main content



‘Belvo To Host Con In Ulster Bank Bateman Cup Final

‘Belvo To Host Con In Ulster Bank Bateman Cup Final

Old Belvedere will play host to Cork Constitution in the final of the Ulster Bank-sponsored Bateman All-Ireland Cup on Saturday, April 29.

Cork Constitution are chasing an incredible fifth Bateman Cup success in as many years having beaten St. Mary’s College, UCD, Clontarf and Galwegians in finals between 2013 and 2016.

This season’s decider, which will be televised by RTE Television, kicks off at 12.45pm. It will be Old Belvedere’s first ever Bateman Cup final appearance and they are bidding to become the first Leinster club to claim the All-Ireland title in the modern era – Munster’s Bruff, Garryowen and Cork Con have shared out the trophy since the competition was reintroduced in 2011.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cork Con cantered through to April’s final with a 63-0 semi-final hammering of a depleted Buccaneers side last month, and Brian Hickey’s men are gunning for a cup double as they play Young Munster in next Sunday’s Munster Senior Cup decider at Irish Independent Park.


Belvedere, this year’s Leinster Senior League Cup winners, also advanced in impressive fashion to the Bateman Cup’s showpiece match. They hosted Ballynahinch at the semi-final stage and ran out six-try 44-14 winners at Anglesea Road.

Coached by Paul Cunningham and with Eddie O’Sullivan recently joining the management team, ‘Belvo were beaten 20-14 by Con in October’s league clash at the Dublin 4 venue.

The clubs will renew rivalries at Temple Hill in the return Division 1A fixture on Saturday week (March 4). A disappointing run of results has seen Belvedere slip to the bottom of the table, while Constitution are currently third overall and on course for the play-offs.

2016/17 ULSTER BANK BATEMAN CUP FINAL: Saturday, April 29


All-Ireland Cup Champions’ Roll Of Honour:

2015/16 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2014/15 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2013/14 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2012/13 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2011/12 – Garryowen (Bateman Cup)
2010/11 – Bruff (Bateman Cup)
2009/10 – Cork Constitution
2008/09 – Ballynahinch
2007/08 – Shannon
2006/07 – Garryowen
2005/06 – Cork Constitution