Jump to main content


PWC logo

Kelly Leads New-Look Ireland Under-20 Team

Kelly Leads New-Look Ireland Under-20 Team

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, to play Scotland in the opening round of the 2017 U-20 Six Nations at Broadwood Stadium on Friday (kick-off 8.30pm) has been named.

A new-look Ireland Under-20 team sees just two players previously capped at this level named in the side – out- half Johnny McPhillips and Cillian Gallagher in the back row. Friday’s game will be shown live on RTE 2.
Joe Conway, Tadgh McElroy and Peter Cooper make up the front row with Fineen Wycherley and Oisin Dowling paired together in the second row. Gallagher, Paul Boyle and Caelan Doris complete the pack.
Captain Jack Kelly will start at full-back with Jordan Larmour and Colm Hogan named on the wings. UCD duo Gavin Mullin and Ciaran Frawley make up the centre paring with McPhillips named at out-half alongside his Ulster colleague, scrum half Jonny Stewart.
Commenting on the team selection and the challenge ahead, Ireland U-20 head coach Nigel Carolan said: “As is the nature of Under-20 rugby, there is fresh look to the side, the majority of the guys haven’t played at this level before however many have gotten good game-time with their provincial ‘A’ teams in the British & Irish Cup this season, so that should stand to them.

“We are looking forward to starting the Six Nations. Training has gone well and the boys have gelled as a group. We are taking the tournament one game at a time and are looking forward to kicking things off in Scotland on Friday night.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v Scotland Under-20s, 2017 Under-20 Six Nations, Broadwood Stadium, Glasgow, Friday, February 3, kick-off 8.30pm):

15. Jack Kelly (Dublin University/Leinster) (capt)
14. Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
13. Gavin Mullin (UCD/Leinster)
12. Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster)
11. Colm Hogan (Dublin University/Munster)
10. Johnny McPhillips (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
9. Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/Ulster)
1. Joey Conway (UL Bohemians/Munster)
2. Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
3. Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
4. Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
5. Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne/Leinster)
6. Cillian Gallagher (Corinthians/Connacht)
7. Paul Boyle (Lansdowne/Leinster)
8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

16. Adam Moloney (Shannon/Munster)
17. Rory Mulvihill (UCD/Leinster)
18. Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. Jack Regan (UCD/Leinster)
20. Marcus Rea (Queen’s University/Ulster)
21. Jack Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)
22. Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
23. Tommy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

IRELAND UNDER-20 Management –

Head Coach – Nigel Carolan
Assistant Coach – Peter Malone
Scrum Coach – Conor Twomey
Team Manager – Hendrik Kruger
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Martin Kennedy
Physiotherapist – Nicholas Lalor
Performance Analyst – Jim Herring
Masseur – Gareth Rossi
Equipment and Logistics Manager – Lar Hogan
Media Officer – Sam O’Byrne

IRELAND UNDER-20s’ Six Nations Fixtures:

Friday, February 3
Scotland U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Broadwood Stadium, Glasgow, 8.30pm

Friday, February 10
Italy U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Stadio Enrico Chersoni, Prato, 7pm local time/6pm Irish time

Friday, February 24
Ireland U-20s v France U-20s, Donnybrook Stadium, 8pm

Saturday, March 11
Wales U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay, 6.30pm

Friday, March 17
Ireland U-20s v England U-20s, Donnybrook Stadium, 6pm