Jump to main content


Ronaldson Returns For Connacht, Cooney Selected At Out-Half

Ronaldson Returns For Connacht, Cooney Selected At Out-Half

Connacht head coach Pat Lam has named his team to tackle Zebre in round 5 of the Champions Cup at the Sportsground on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 1pm).

There are five personnel changes to the side that lined out against the Ospreys in the GUINNESS PRO12 last weekend with two in the backs and three in the pack.

Craig Ronaldson returns from injury to start at inside centre, while John Cooney will play at outhalf for the first time in his career. The scrum half position is filled by the returning Ireland international Kieran Marmion.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, Lewis Stevenson comes in to start in the second row having made ten appearances from the bench this season. The back row sees the return of captain John Muldoon, who missed out through injury last week.

His fellow Galway man Eoin McKeon is named at openside flanker, having reached the 100-cap milestone at the Liberty Stadium in Swansea last Saturday.

James Connolly and Naulia Dawai are named among the replacement forwards. New centre Tom Farrell, who was added to the Connacht squad this week, is named in his first matchday squad for the province in what will also be his Champions Cup debut if he is called upon.

Commenting on the visit of the Italian outfit, Pat Lam said: “We’re excited by the challenge that the Champions Cup presents to us and the opportunity to qualify for the last-eight of the competition. First up, we have a big game against Zebre tomorrow and are fully focused on putting in a performance to get us the points we need.

“Zebre are determined to get their first win in Europe and we know what they are capable of on their day. We have the advantage of being at home in front of our supporters so it’s up to us to ensure we get the job done.”

Connacht’s list of injured/unavailable players currently includes Ronan Loughney, Conor Carey, Ivan Soroka, Conan O’Donnell, Ultan Dillane, Quinn Roux, Ben Marshall, Andrew Browne, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Jake Heenan, Eoghan Masterson, Jack Carty, Marnitz Boshoff, Shane O’Leary, Peter Robb, Stacey Ili, Bundee Aki, Eoin Griffin, Cormac Brennan, Cian Kelleher and Darragh Leader.

CONNACHT (v Zebre): Tiernan O’Halloran; Niyi Adeolokun, Rory Parata, Craig Ronaldson, Matt Healy; John Cooney, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Lewis Stevenson, James Cannon, Sean O’Brien, Eoin McKeon, John Muldoon (capt).

Replacements: Dave Heffernan, JP Cooney, John Andress, James Connolly, Naulia Dawai, Caolin Blade, Tom Farrell, Danie Poolman.