Jump to main content


O’Donoghue Replaces O’Donnell In Munster Back Row

O’Donoghue Replaces O’Donnell In Munster Back Row

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus has named his team for Saturday’s Champions Cup round 5 showdown with Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 5.30pm).

There are four changes to the side that defeated Racing 92 in last weekend’s 32-7 bonus point win, with three in the pack and one in the back-line.

In the front row, loosehead prop Dave Kilcoyne starts this week with the in-form Niall Scannell, one of the province’s try scorers in Paris, and John Ryan continuing at hooker and tighthead respectively.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Behind them sees Donnacha Ryan switch sides in the second row with the Tipperary lock joined by powerful South African Jean Kleyn, who has overcome last week’s illness to make his first European start for Munster.

Jack O’Donoghue takes the place of the injured Tommy O’Donnell in the back row as captain Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander continue at blindside flanker and number 8 respectively.

Conor Murray and Tyler Bleyendaal are again the half-back pairing, with no change to the midfield partnership of Rory Scannell and Jaco Taute. The final changes sees Keith Earls start on the left wing, joining two of last week’s try scorers, Andrew Conway and Simon Zebo, in the back-three.

Meanwhile, O’Donnell, who sustained an ankle sprain against Racing 92, will continue to be observed by the medical team, however it is hoped the injury will only require a short-term rehab.

Fellow back rower Robin Copeland was not available for selection this week after sustaining a thumb injury against Doncaster Knights in the British & Irish Cup last Saturday. He will undergo surgery next week and is expected to be ruled out for six to seven weeks.

It has also been confirmed that centre Sam Arnold, who sustained a knee injury in the same Munster ‘A’ fixture, will be sidelined for approximately eight weeks.

MUNSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Donnacha Ryan, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, Thomas du Toit, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Francis Saili.