Jump to main content


Herbst To Line Out For Ulster ‘A’

Herbst To Line Out For Ulster ‘A’

Wiehahn Herbst will make his return from injury for the Ulster ‘A’ team in Saturday’s British & Irish Cup trip to the Athletic Ground to face London Scottish (kick-off 2.30pm).

Wiehahn Herbst, who has not featured since the province’s Champions Cup defeat at Saracens last January, is the only change in the Ulster ‘A’ pack from the side that beat Jersey Reds 19-6 in the opening round last weekend.

Jonny Simpson and John Andrew will join the South African tighthead in the front row, and Ireland international Dan Tuohy will once again captain the ‘A’ side from the second row alongside Kieran Treadwell.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The back row will again be made up of Stephen Mulholland, Conor Joyce and Lorcan Dow, while Ulster ‘A’ coaches Willie Anderson and Kieran Campbell have made three changes to the back-line.

Angus Lloyd starts at scrum half where he partners Brett Herron, Robert Lyttle joins the in-form Aaron Cairns and Johnny McPhillips in the back three, and McPhillips’ Ireland Under-20 team-mate Jacob Stockdale will start alongside Mark Best in the midfield.

The management team have gone for a 5-2 split in the replacements, with Jonny Murphy, Tommy O’Hagan, Craig Trenier, John Donnan and Nick Timoney offering the cover for the forwards, while Conor Kelly and Lewis Sampson will provide the back-line options from the bench.

The Ulstermen’s opponents London Scottish also won their opening British & Irish Cup tie, 26-21 away to the Cardiff Blues Premiership Select. They currently sit sixth in the Greene King IPA Championship, with three wins from their opening six games.

In last season’s B&I Cup, the Richmond-based club just missed out on a quarter-final spot, boasting an impressive four wins from their pool games, including home and away victories over Munster ‘A’.

ULSTER ‘A’ (v London Scottish): Johnny McPhillips; Robert Lyttle, Jacob Stockdale, Mark Best, Aaron Cairns; Brett Herron, Angus Lloyd; Jonny Simpson, John Andrew, Wiehahn Herbst, Dan Tuohy (capt), Kieran Treadwell, Stephen Mulholland, Conor Joyce, Lorcan Dow.

Replacements: Jonny Murphy, Tommy O’Hagan, Craig Trenier, John Donnan, Nick Timoney, Conor Kelly, Lewis Sampson.