Jump to main content


O’Brien And Conan Included In Leinster ‘A’ Side

O’Brien And Conan Included In Leinster ‘A’ Side

Leinster ‘A’ kick off their British & Irish Cup campaign away to Richmond on Saturday (kick-off 3pm) and the fixture will see a return to action for Sean O’Brian and Jack Conan.

Sean O’Brien picked up a hamstring injury playing for Ireland against France in the Six Nations last season and has not featured for Leinster since last January’s win over Bath in the Champions Cup.

The Tullow man starts in the back row along with Jack Conan, who also returns from injury, and Peadar Timmins who captains the side from blindside flanker.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The second row is a mix of youth and experience as Ireland Under-20 captain James Ryan is paired with Maori All Blacks lock Hayden Triggs. In the front row, hooker Bryan Byrne is flanked by Peter Dooley and Jeremy Loughman.

Nick McCarthy starts at scrum half, with Ross Byrne completing the half-back pairing. Jack Kelly and Jimmy O’Brien, who have shown well in recent Ulster Bank League outings for Dublin University and UCD respectively, will be the ‘A’ team’s starting centre partnership. Kelly replaces the injured Tom Daly.

There are two changes in the back-three as Adam Byrne comes in at full-back and Barry Daly starts on the left wing. Their UCD colleague Hugo Keenan retains his place from last week’s starting line-up against Ulster ‘A’.

Leinster ‘A’ play their first home British & Irish Cup match next Saturday (October 22) at Donnybrook against Nottingham (kick-off 3pm). Tickets will be available on the gate and Leinster Rugby Season Ticket holders can attend for free when they show their 2016/17 Season Ticket card.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Richmond): Adam Byrne; Hugo Keenan, Jack Kelly, Jimmy O’Brien, Barry Daly; Ross Byrne, Nick McCarthy; Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, Hayden Triggs, James Ryan, Peadar Timmins (capt), Sean O’Brien, Jack Conan.

Replacements: Sean McNulty, Oisin Heffernan, David O’Connor, Max Deegan, Will Connors, Charlie Rock, Jordan Larmour.