Jump to main content


Venues Announced For 2016/17 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series

Venues Announced For 2016/17 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series

World Rugby have confirmed the venues for the 2016/17 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

The Ireland Women’s Sevens squad re-qualified as a core team for the series when they finished in third place at the Global Qualifying Tournament that was held in UCD last June.

As per last year, they will begin the series at the Dubai Sevens on December 1 and 3 before heading Down Under in the New Year to compete at the Sydney Sevens on February 3-4. Sydney is a new location for the Women’s Series and both of these stages will run alongside the Men’s World Sevens Series competitions.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Anthony Eddy’s team got a taster of the Sydney Sevens last season when they played the Australian Women’s Sevens side in three exhibition games at the men’s event. Australia went on to win the overall series and also claimed Olympic gold at the Rio Olympics.

Aoife Doyle takes on Australia's Amy Turner

Following on from Sydney, the next stop on the series is also a new addition, as the teams travel to Kitakyushu in Japan on April 22-23. In May, the series returns to Victoria and Langford in Canada, with the tournament taking place on May 27-28.

The last stop on the series will again be Clermont-Ferrand in France on June 24 and 25. It is expected that a sixth stop on the series will also be confirmed.


Dubai: December 1-2, 2016
Sydney: February 3-4, 2017
Kitakyushu: April 22-23
Victoria/Langford, Canada: May 27-28
Clermont-Ferrand: June 24-25