Jump to main content


Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad For Exeter Super Sevens

Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad For Exeter Super Sevens

Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Sevens Rugby, has named the Ireland Men’s Sevens Wolfhounds squad to compete at the final stage of the Super Sevens Series in Exeter this weekend.

Ireland won the last stage of the series in Coventry and can claim the overall series this Sunday.

The squad contains five players who are coming off the back of a successful weekend at the Rugby Europe Trophy competition in Prague. They claimed the overall title and have gained promotion to next year’s Rugby Europe Grand Prix Series.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The five players who were involved last week are Harry McNulty, John O’Donnell, Josh Rowland, Luke O’Dea and Munster Academy player Alex Wootton.

Ulster Academy players David Busby and Nick Timoney are included in this weekend’s squad, along with Ulster Under-20 winger Colm Kelly and Munster Under-20 winger Colm Hogan.

Shane Layden returns to the side, having taken part at the Monaco Sevens, and Lansdowne’s Mark Roche completes the squad.

Speaking ahead of the weekend, Anthony Eddy said “This weekend marks the final competition of the season for the Ireland Men’s Sevens programme and we are looking to finish on a positive note.

“While the players were disappointed after missing out on Olympic qualification in Monaco last month, they regrouped well as a squad and did very well at the Rugby Europe Trophy, winning the competition and gaining promotion to the Grand Prix for next season.

“The Wolfhounds side also went on to win the Coventry leg of the Super Sevens Series. There will be some strong sides at the Exeter competition this weekend, with a number of invitational sides boasting ex-internationals in their ranks, but we have done well over the last few weeks and will be looking to build on that success.”

IRELAND MEN’S WOLFHOUNDS SEVENS Squad (Exeter Super Sevens Series):

David Busby (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Jordan Conroy (Tullamore)
Colm Hogan (Dublin University)
Conor Kelly (Queen’s University)
Shane Layden (Buccaneers)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Luke O’Dea (unaffiliated)
John O’Donnell (unaffiliated)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne)
Josh Rowland (unaffiliated)
Nick Timoney (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)
Ireland Men’s Sevens Fixtures – Exeter Sevens:

Sunday, July 10 –

Ireland Wolfhounds v Forces Exiles, 10am
Ireland Wolfhounds v Marauders, 12.20pm