Jump to main content


Munster In Pole Position For Junior InterPros

Munster In Pole Position For Junior InterPros

Munster lead the way after the second round of matches in the Junior Interprovincial series offered up two tight matches.

The Munster Juniors came from behind to beat Ulster Juniors by a single point, leaving them in pole position to claim the title if they can beat Connacht in the final round this weekend.

Munster found themselves 10 – 0 behind after a penalty from Chris Cousens and a chip and chase try from Ulster winger Andrew Pollock which Cousens converted.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With the elements at their back Munster took the game to Ulster and John Lillis had them on the scoreboard with a penalty after five minutes of the second half.

Aidan Ware won a line out on the Ulster 22 and the pack mauled the ball over the Ulster line with Ian Fitzgerald credited with the touchdown. Four minutes later Lillis put Munster ahead with a penalty on the 22 and the match ended 11 – 10 to the home side.

In Westport, Connacht and Leinster played out an exciting 23 all draw. Tries from Sean Scahill and Lorcan Laheen for the home side added to the kicking of Eddie Dunning and Sean Tobin were balanced out by the scores of Gavin Thompson and Padraig Mahon of Leinster and the boot of Conor Glynn.

The final round of games takes place this weekend:

Munster Juniors v Connacht Juniors, Richmond RFC, Saturday May 14th, 2:30
Ulster Juniors v Leinster Juniors, Coleraine RFC, Saturday May 14th, 2:30

Munster: Dean O’Brien (Newcastle West); Dan Horgan (Muskerry), Shane Moloney (Thurles), Kieran Merrigan (Clanwilliam), Warren Kelly (St. Senan’s); John Lillis (Thurles), Nicky Irwin (Thurles); Pa Ryan (St. Senan’s), Mike Cronin (Castleisland), Colm Skehan (Thurles); Rory O’Donnell (St. Mary’s), Dave Foley (Newcastle West); Courtney Canning (Clonakilty capt, Aidan Ware (Old Christians), Kieran Downey (Castleisland).

Replacements: Darragh Fitzgerald (St. Mary’s), Darren Collins (Muskerry), Brendan Childs (Galbally), Ian Fitzgerald (St. Senan’s), Sean Herlihy (Newcastle West), Aidan Dwyer (Thurles), Brian Collins (St. Senan’s).

Ulster: Chris Cousens (Portadown); Ryan Purvis (Portadown), Scott Young (Ards), Mikey Poskett (Coleraine), Andrew Pollock (Cooke); Stewart Paul 9Ards), Stuart McKane (Omagh); Chris Nash (Academy), Kyle Cobane (Clogher Valley), Johnny McIllwaine (Carrickfergus); David Sharkey (Clogher Valley), David Buchanan (Enniskillen); Toby Mannus (Cooke) capt, David Bradford (Bangor), Brian Hughes (Coleraine).

Replacements: Stuart Smyth (Grosvenor), Adam Gibney (Carrickfergus), Mike Aspley (Bangor), Adam McGregor (Dromore), Ryan Garrett (Larne), Ryan Bailey (Carrickfergus), Paul Cartmill (Cooke).
Referee: G Sheridan (IRFU).

Connacht: Chris Neill (Ballina). Ian Heanue (Connemara). Matthew Mannion (Monivea). David McDonagh (Connemara). Kevin nCorcoran. (Westport). Sean Tobin (Westport. Dylan Carperter (WestportConor Mason(Ballina). John Keaveney(Ballina). Adam Bourke.(Westport). Chris Ryan. (Westport). Liam Scahill (Westport. Capt). Roy Stanley (NUIG).Stephen Joyce (Monivea).  Lorcan Laheen (Monivea)

Replacements: Liam Griggith (Claremorris). Cormac Groden (Westport) Eugene Conroy (Connemara). Eddie Dunning (Westport). Mickey Murphy (Ballina) Ross Keller (Ballinasloe). Coleman Maher (Monivea)

Leinster: Liam Cuddy  (Kilkenny). Gavin Thompson (Portlaoise). Conor Hayes (Coolmine). Matthew Bater (Gorey). Padraig Mahon (Kilkenny). Colm Glynn (Longford) Gavin Kennedy (Ashbourne). Alan Wall (Ashbourne). James McGahet (Ashbourne). Dylan Quinn (Longford) Frank Murphy (Tullow – Capt). Wesley Carter (Kilkenny). John Shine (Malahide). Neil Final (Clondalkin). Willie Earl (Gorey).

Replacements: Cian Glennon (DLSP). Darragh Bellanova (Gorey). Paul Nolan (Clondalkin) Simon Deevey (Ashbourne) Arthur Brabazon (Mullingar) Ross O’Shaughnessy (DLSP). Cary Robb (Malahide)