Jump to main content


Jackson To Win 100th Ulster Cap In Glasgow

Jackson To Win 100th Ulster Cap In Glasgow

Ulster director of rugby Les Kiss has named his team for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 match against Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm).

There are five changes to the starting team that faced Zebre three weeks ago. Captain Rob Herring is joined in the front row by Callum Black, who replaces Kyle McCall at loosehead prop, and Ricky Lutton is named at tighthead.
Alan O’Connor is among those who utilised the break to return from injury – he replaces Peter Browne in the second row, partnering Franco van der Merwe. Iain Henderson returns to the starting line-up having been out since December with a hamstring injury. He is joined in the back row by Chris Henry and Nick Williams.
Paddy Jackson will make his 100th appearance for the province on Friday night and continues his half-back partnership with Ruan Pienaar.
Positional switches result in a new-look backline, with Stuart Olding moving from the centre to full-back and Craig Gilroy returning to the right wing. Rory Scholes moves to the left flank in place of Jacob Stockdale, who is on a down week following his involvement with the Ireland Under-20 Six Nations campaign.
Stuart McCloskey, who made his debut for Ireland against England during the Six Nations, replaces Olding at inside centre, and Luke Marshall completes the midfield axis.
Paul Marshall, Sam Windsor and Darren Cave will provide the back-line cover, while John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Andrew Warwick, Robbie Diack and Sean Reidy are the forward replacements.
ULSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Stuart Olding; Craig Gilroy, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Rory Scholes; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Callum Black, Rob Herring (capt), Ricky Lutton, Alan O’Connor, Franco van der Merwe, Iain Henderson, Chris Henry, Nick Williams.

Replacements: John Andrew, Kyle McCall, Andrew Warwick, Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy, Paul Marshall, Sam Windsor, Darren Cave.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article