Jump to main content


Internationals Return For Munster’s Match Against Zebre

Internationals Return For Munster’s Match Against Zebre

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has made no less than nine changes for Friday’s GUINNESS PRO12 clash against Zebre at Thomond Park (kick-off 7pm).

Returning Ireland internationals Donnacha Ryan, Tommy O’Donnell, Keith Earls and Simon Zebo all start with Conor Murray and CJ Stander named among the replacements.
In naming an all-Irish starting line-up, the province will field a side that are all products of the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy.
In an all-new front row, Dave Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer start on either side of Niall Scannell with Archer making his first start since returning from a long-term neck injury.
Donnacha Ryan comes into the second row and will make his 100th league appearance when partnering Billy Holland, who again captains the Munstermen.
O’Donnell is the one personnel change in the back row with Dave O’Callaghan and Jack O’Donoghue reverting to blindside flanker and number 8 respectively.

Changes in the half-backs see Tomas O’Leary and Johnny Holland start alongside each other for the first time in what will be Holland’s first inclusion in the starting line-up since returning from a long-term hamstring injury.
A new starting partnership is also seen in midfield with the returning Earls linking up with Rory Scannell, while the return of Zebo at full-back is the final change with Ronan O’Mahony and Darren Sweetnam again completing the back-three.
Francis Saili sustained a knock to the shoulder in training this week, ruling him out of contention for Friday’s round 18 match. The centre is expected to return to training next week.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tickets from €;15 and €;30 for families can be purchased from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 0818 719 300. Fanzone and Bars open from 5pm.

MUNSTER (v Zebre): Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Keith Earls, Rory Scannell, Ronan O’Mahony; Johnny Holland, Tomas O’Leary; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Dave Foley, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Ian Keatley, David Johnston.