Jump to main content


64th Annual Colours Match Set for College Park Debut

64th Annual Colours Match Set for College Park Debut

The 64th Annual Rugby Colours match between Trinity College and UCD will take place this Wednesday night (kick-off 7.30pm) under floodlights at College Park in Dublin’s city centre for the very first time.

Trinity Rugby will be seeking to end the four game winning run of their Belfield neighbours, with the city centre university last winning the inter varsity fixture in 2011, courtesy of a 31-22 victory in Donnybrook Stadium. 
Trinity will be hoping to avenge the 32-30 defeat they suffered last year in an incredibly entertaining game, despite leading from the start right up until the 73rd minute. The game in Belfield was the first time that the game was played away from a neutral ground and benefited from a huge student crowd in the UCD Bowl.
There is an impressive roll of honour of players who have left their mark in this game and gone on to represent Ireland at full international level in recent times, including Brian O’Driscoll, Rob Kearney and Jamie Heaslip

The rich history of the game has also seen Irish rugby greats such as Brendan Mullin, Hugo McNeill and former Tánaiste Dick Spring all play in this fixture.
The win loss ratio is tipped firmly in UCD’s favour, with 37 titles, compared to Trinity’s 22 wins and only four draws.
The Women’s Colours Match kicks off at 3pm in College Park. The women’s fixture has only been added in recent years thanks to the growing popularity of women’s rugby.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both teams have enjoyed significant growth in numbers this season and hope to showcase their strength in the squads in one if the high points of the season.

Trinity women won the fixture last year and will be looking to retain the Colours Cup, UCD on the other hand will be hoping to put right last years loss.

These teams have met twice already in the season and as it stands there is one win each so it’s all to play for in college park, this game promises to be an exciting end to the season for both teams. 
Trinity Rugby Team & Replacements:

15. Conor Kearns (Glenstal Abbey)
14. Tim Maupin (De La Salle, USA)
13. Paddy Lavelle (Gonzaga College)
12. Seb Fromm (Clongowes Wood College)
11. Max McFarland (Clongowes Wood College)
10. Jack McDermott (Clongowes Wood College)
9. Angus Lloyd (Blackrock College)
1. Eric O’Sullivan (Templeogue College)
2. Patrick Finlay (Gonzaga College)
3. Andy Keating (St Pat’s Navan)
4. Jack Burke (Blackrock College)
5. Raef Tyrell (Blackrock College)
6. Nick McCarthy (Clongowes Wood College) Captain
7. Dermot O’Flynn (Blackrock College)
8. Tom Ryan (Glenstal Abbey)

16. Matt McCann (CUS)
17. Tom Collis (Clongowes Wood College)
18. Warren Larkin (Clongowes Wood College)
19. Conor Gleeson (Clongowes Wood College)
20. Cian O’Dwyer (Blackrock College)
21. Brian Slater (PBC Cork)
22. Michael Courtney CBC Monkstown)
23. Jack Fitzpatrick (Gonzaga College)
UCD Team & Replacements:

15. Billy Dardis (Terenure College)
14. Adam Byrne (CBS Naas)
13. Stephen Murphy (Gonzaga College) Captain
12. Conall Doherty (Lumen Christi College)
11. Barry Daly (Gonzaga College)
10. Ross Byrne (St. Michael’s College)
9. Nick McCarthy (St. Michael’s College)
1. Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College)
2. Sean McNulty (Rockwell College)
3. Liam Hyland (Cistercian College Roscrea)
4. Brian Cawley (Blackrock College)
5. Emmet MacMahon (St.Michael’s College)
6. Michael Cawley (Blacrock College)
7. Charlie Cregan (St. Michael’s College)
8. Peadar Timmins (Clongowes Wood College)

16. Gordon Frayne (Clongowes Wood College)
17. Robert Byrne (Gonzaga College)
18. Jack Dawn (Blackrock College)
19. Donagh Lawler (St. Michael’s College)
20. Jamie Glynn (Clongowes Wood College)
21. Bobby Holland (St. Michael’s College)
22. Liam Bourke (St. Patrick’s Navan)
23. Tom Fletcher (Clongowes Wood College)

Women’s Colours Match 2016

UCD Team & Replacements:

1. Leah Hayden
2. Orli Shlachter
3. Claire Cashman
4. Rebecca Schwartz
5. Louise McDonnell
6. Mary O’Connor
7. Marine Di Paolo
8. Katie O’Sullivan
9. Alice O’Callaghan
10. Kate Hegarty
11. Rachel Healy
12. Sinéad Corbett
13. Ali Coleman
14. Carla Massaro
15. Alex Robb


16.Jennie Hunter
17.Amy Thomas
18.Aimee Keenan
19.Eimear Conroy
20.Clodagh Kelly
21.Alice Le Charlès
22.Mary-Kate Moloney
23.Cora Cousins
Trinity Team & Replacements:
1. Julia Bauer
2. Abigail Berry
3. Ashleigh Payne
4. Maura Ford
5. Claire Chapelle
6. Lousie Catinot
7. Kayla Young
8. Caitlin Crowe
9. India McGirr
10. Katelyn Faust
11. Camille Fayand
12. Niamh Byrne
13. Siofra Fogarty
14. Alex Lynch
15. Caoimhe Brady


16. Vir Lopez
17. Derv Moore
18. Sarah Clarke
19. Emma Carrigan
20. Ellen Sweeney
21. Cathy Liney
22. Charlotte Bowen
23. Hollie Bennett