Jump to main content



Conway And Kilcoyne Added To Ireland Training Squad

Conway And Kilcoyne Added To Ireland Training Squad

The Ireland coaching team have named a squad of 35 players for the final week of the RBS 6 Nations Championship, with the panel including the uncapped Jack O’Donoghue and Andrew Conway.

Andrew Conway has been added to the squad in the absence of Rob Kearney whose hamstring has not recovered sufficiently and he will not be involved in Ireland camp this week.

Conway has played previously for the Ireland Under-20s and Ireland Wolfhounds and was part of the Emerging Ireland squad that won the 2015 World Rugby Tbilisi Cup.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

David Kilcoyne has also been added to the 35-man Ireland squad as they prepare for the final round of the tournament against a resurgent Scotland. Kilcoyne has been called up as cover for Cian Healy who was ruled out of the matchday squad against Italy last Friday.

Healy and Eoin Reddan will continue their rehab today with the aim of being available to train on Tuesday. The Ireland team to play Scotland will be announced on Thursday afternoon.

IRELAND Training Squad (Round 5 v Scotland, 2016 RBS 6 Nations):

Backs (16) –

Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) *
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
Stuart McCloskey (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Jared Payne (Ulster)
Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Forwards (19) –

Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) (capt)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)
Dave Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vice-capt)
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
CJ Stander (Munster)
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
Nathan White (Connacht)
* Denotes uncapped player