Jump to main content


Griffin And Stapleton To Start For Ireland Women

Griffin And Stapleton To Start For Ireland Women

The Ireland Women’s team, sponsored by Aon, has been named to face England this Saturday. The Women’s RBS 6 Nations game will take place in Twickenham at 7.15pm, following the men’s fixture.

Head coach Tom Tierney has made two personnel changes and one positional switch to the side that lost to France in Perpignan last time out.
In the pack, Tralee’s Ciara Griffin, who won her second cap against the French, is handed her first Six Nations start at flanker. Paula Fitzpatrick shifts to number 8 and Heather O’Brien moves to the replacements.
In the backs, there is a straight swap at out-half where the experienced Nora Stapleton comes in for Nikki Caughey who will provide back-up from the bench.
Prop Fiona Hayes, who was last involved in Ireland’s final game of the 2015 Six Nations, has been added to the replacements.
Tierney is looking forward to the challenge that awaits his team at Twickenham, saying: “While the result in France didn’t go our way, I thought there were a lot of positives to take from that game and we will be looking to carry them into this fixture. We made too many unforced errors in Perpignan, so if we can rectify that I think we have got a very good chance on Saturday.

“Twickenham is a special place to play, so it will be a great experience for the girls, but it is important that we go there looking to perform and hopefully come away with a result.”
The England v Ireland Women’s clash will be streamed live on YouTube via England Rugby. Click here to watch from 7pm on Saturday night.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v England Women, 2016 Women’s RBS 6 Nations, Twickenham, Saturday, February 27, kick-off 7.15pm):

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
14. Elise O’Byrne White (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara/Leinster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)
11. Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)
1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6. Ciara Griffin (Tralee/Munster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)

16. Zoe Grattage (Tralee/Munster)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
19. Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
20. Heather O’Brien (Toulouse)
21. Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht)
22. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster)
23. Jackie Shiels (Richmond)