Jump to main content


Wilson Reaches 200-Cap Milestone For Ulster

Wilson Reaches 200-Cap Milestone For Ulster

Roger Wilson will line out for Ulster for the 200th time after being named in Les Kiss’ starting team for the GUINNESS PRO12 game against the Scarlets at Kingspan Stadium on Sunday (kick-off 2.30pm).

Roger Wilson, who made his Ulster debut in September 2003 against the Neath Swansea Ospreys, has played well over 300 professional club games after also enjoying a four-year stint with Northampton Saints, with whom he won the European Challenge Cup in 2009.

Rob Herring has a slight hamstring injury so John Andrew will make his first senior start for Ulster at hooker. Herring’s absence also means that out-half Paddy Jackson will captain the province for the first time.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Andrew is joined in the front row by props Andrew Warwick and Ricky Lutton, while Alan O’Connor and Franco van der Merwe will continue in the second row.

Wilson will be joined in the back row by Robbie Diack and Chris Henry, who will start for the first time since December after fully recovering from injury. Nick Williams is unavailable for selection due to a shoulder injury.

Paul Marshall will partner Jackson at half-back, with Luke Marshall returning from international duty to take a place at inside centre alongside Darren Cave, as Les Kiss continues to manage his midfield playing resources.

The back-three of Craig Gilroy, Jacob Stockdale and Stuart Olding, who signed a contract extension earlier this week, remains unchanged from the win over Glasgow last week.

Hooker Johnny Murphy could make his competitive debut for the province after being named on the bench. Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Peter Browne and Clive Ross are the other forward replacements in Kiss’ squad, while Ruan Pienaar, Ian Humphreys and Sam Arnold are also included in the matchday 23.

Tickets for the Ulster v Scarlets game are still available through www.ulsterrugby.com/buytickets.

ULSTER (v Scarlets): Stuart Olding; Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Jacob Stockdale; Paddy Jackson (capt), Paul Marshall; Andrew Warwick, John Andrew, Ricky Lutton, Alan O’Connor, Franco van der Merwe, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Johnny Murphy, Kyle McCall, Bronson Ross, Peter Browne, Clive Ross, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Humphreys, Sam Arnold.