Jump to main content


Inaugural Colleges’ Rugby Cup Competitions Are Launched

Inaugural Colleges’ Rugby Cup Competitions Are Launched

The launch of the inaugural Student Sport Ireland IRFU Third Level Colleges’ Senior Rugby Cup competitions was held at the Aviva Stadium on Tuesday.

32 college rugby teams will participate in three cup competitions coordinated by the IRFU and Student Sport Ireland, the governing body for third level sport on the island of Ireland.

Guest of honour at the event was Brendan Johnston after whom the Senior Cup competition is named. During his thirty five years as Sports Officer and lecturer at Dundalk Institute of Technology, Johnston was an advocate for third level sport with a passion for rugby, serving as Hon. Secretary to the Irish Colleges Rugby Union for many years.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Players, coaches and representatives of third level colleges attended the launch which was addressed by Carmel Lynch, Student Sport Ireland Hon. Chairperson, and Nicholas Comyn, Chairman to the IRFU’s Third Level Rugby Committee.

Lynch said: “On behalf of Student Sport Ireland, I am proud and delighted to attend today’s event to launch the inaugural Colleges’ Rugby Cup competitions. In 2011 Student Sport Ireland and the IRFU came together to administer men’s and women’s rugby at third level.

“Five years on and a total of 59 teams participate in the men’s and women’s leagues. Today we take another positive step forward in the development of colleges’ rugby with the launch of three new cup competitions.”

In his address, Comyn complemented both the IRFU and Student Sport Ireland on the progress that has been made since 2011 specifically, acknowledging the work being undertaken within colleges by volunteer coaches and sports staff in the development of third level rugby.

The draw for the Brendan Johnston Cup and the Tier 2 and Tier 3 competitions are as follows. Tier 3 games will be played on Wednesday, February 24, with the Brendan Johnston Cup and Tier 2 competitions kicking off on Wednesday, March 2.

Venues will be confirmed in the coming weeks with Maynooth University hosing the finals of all three competitions on Wednesday, March 16 at Maynooth University Barnhall RFC.

Brendan Johnston Cup Draw

Game 1: Limerick IT v Ulster University
Game 2: IT Carlow v Garda College
Game 3: Dublin City University v Mary Immaculate College
Game 4: Athlone IT v Dublin IT

Semi-Final Line-Up:

Game 5: Winners of Game 1 hosts Winners of Game 2
Game 6: Winners of Game 3 hosts Winners of Game 4
Tier Two Cup Draw

Game 1: IT Carlow ‘B’ v Waterford IT
Game 2: Queens University Belfast v University of Limerick
Game 3: IT Tallaght v NUI Galway
Game 4: Cork IT v Belfast Met

Semi-Final Line-Up:

Game 5: Winners of Game 1 hosts Winners of Game 2
Game 6: Winners of Game 3 hosts Winners of Game 4
Tier Three Cup Draw

Game 1: Athlone IT ‘B’ v IT Blanchardstown
Game 2: Ulster University Jordanstown v University College Cork
Game 3: Dublin Business School v Maynooth University
Game 4: Ulster University Coleraine v Galway Mayo IT
Game 5: Ulster University Magee v IT Carlow ‘C’
Game 6: Dundalk IT v Letterkenny IT
Game 7: IT Tralee v Griffith College
Game 8: Dublin City University ‘B’ v IT Sligo

Quarter-Final Line-Up/Semi-Final Line-Up:

Game 9: Winners of Game 1 hosts Winners of Game 2
Game 10: Winners of Game 3 hosts Winners of Game 4
Game 11: Winners of Game 5 hosts Winners of Game 6
Game 12: Winners of Game 7 hosts Winners of Game 8