Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Squad Announced For Wales Warm-Up

Ireland Women’s Squad Announced For Wales Warm-Up

The Ireland Women’s management team have named a 26-woman squad to play against Wales this Sunday in a warm-up game ahead of the 2016 Six Nations Championship.

The uncapped fixture, which will also have rolling subs, will take place in the CCB Centre for Sporting Excellence in Caerphilly, south Wales, and will allow Ireland Women’s head coach Tom Tierney a chance to have a final look at players and combinations before he names his Six Nations squad.
Commenting ahead of the trip to Wales, Tierney said: “We’ve had some good camps over the past few months, and with the England game in November and now this warm-up fixture against Wales, we’re getting the opportunity to try out some different combinations and build our squad ahead of the Six Nations.

“We’ve got a nice mix of youth and experience within the team so it will be good to get a final run out before we start the tournament in Donnybrook.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article


The Ireland Women’s side will kick off the defence of their Six Nations title against Wales at Donnybrook on Saturday, February 6 at 1pm. For information on the match and ticket alerts, sign up on our Facebook event page.
IRELAND WOMEN’S Squad (v Wales XV, Six Nations Warm-Up Match, CCB Centre for Sporting Excellence, Caerphilly, South Wales. Sunday, January 24, kick-off 12pm):
Backs (11) –

Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Liz Burke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Ulster)
Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht)
Aine Donnelly (Cill Dara/Leinster)
Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Claire McLaughlin (Queen’s University/Ulster)
Larissa Muldoon (Skewen/Exile)
Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)
Elise O’Byrne White (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)

Forwards (15) –

Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster)
Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Grainne Egan (St. Mary’s/Connacht)
Paula Fitzpatrick (Toulouse)
Zoe Grattage (Tralee/Munster)
Ciara Griffin (Tralee/Munster)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
Heather O’Brien (Toulouse)
Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Ruth O’Reilly (GalwegiansConnacht)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)