Jump to main content



Bateman Cup Semi-Finals Set For January 16

Bateman Cup Semi-Finals Set For January 16

The draw has been made for this season’s Ulster Bank Bateman All-Ireland Cup semi-finals. The two games will take place on Saturday, January 16, with reigning champions Cork Constitution facing a trip to in-form UCD and Galwegians entertaining Ballynahinch out west.

Cork Constitution are aiming for an incredible four in-a-row of Bateman Cup titles, having won their last six matches in the All-Ireland competition – including their 19-6 final win over UCD in May 2014.

The clubs will renew rivalries in next month’s semi-finals and this time UCD, who captured the Leinster Senior League Cup last week, will have home advantage. The students are currently riding high at the top of Ulster Bank League Division 1A and drew 19-all with Cork Con in their most recent league meeting.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

But Constitution have an enviable cup pedigree and are always formidable opponents whether home or away. The Leesiders edged out Garryowen 11-9 in a titanic tussle in the Munster Senior Cup last Saturday, with lock Conor Kindregan’s 66th-minute try proving crucial.

In the other Bateman Cup semi-final, Division 1A’s current bottom two sides will go head to head as Galwegians host Ballynahinch at Crowley Park. ‘Wegians ran out 27-10 winners over Buccaneers to regain the Connacht Senior Cup last week. The previous night saw ‘Hinch retain the Ulster Senior for the first time in their history thanks to a 19-10 victory over Ballymena at Kingspan Stadium.

The Galway men will draw confidence from their 33-16 league success at home to ‘Hinch last month, but the Co. Down outfit seem to be finding some form at last, judging by their recent league triumph over title holders Lansdowne.

Adding some extra spice, Ballynahinch and Galwegians will get a chance to run the rule over each other just a week before their cup semi-final, as they battle it out for valuable league points at Ballymacarn Park on Saturday, January 9.

Munster clubs, including Bruff (2011) and Garryowen (2012), have dominated the Bateman Cup since the IRFU reintroduced the four-team format five years ago. Cork Con were also All-Ireland Cup winners in 2006 and 2010.


UCD v CORK CONSTITUTION, Belfield, 2.30pm


– The final is scheduled for the weekend of April 30/May 1

Competition Rules:

(i) If teams are tied at full-time, extra-time of 10 minutes each way will be played
(ii) If still tied, the team that has scored the most tries will be the winners
(iii) If still tied, the away team will be declared the winners

All-Ireland Cup Champions’ Roll Of Honour:

2014/15 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2013/14 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2012/13 – Cork Constitution (Bateman Cup)
2011/12 – Garryowen (Bateman Cup)
2010/11 – Bruff (Bateman Cup)
2009/10 – Cork Constitution
2008/09 – Ballynahinch
2007/08 – Shannon
2006/07 – Garryowen
2005/06 – Cork Constitution